Replacing Volume1 disk with a larger drive

Post Reply
AlterMax
Posts: 2
youtube meble na wymiar Warszawa
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2023 2:16 pm

Replacing Volume1 disk with a larger drive

Post by AlterMax »

Now I have a 2 volumes in my NAS(AS5304T): vol1 - SSD disk is nonRAID with 2Tb (ext4 fs) size and vol2 - 3 disks in RAID 5 8Tb size.
All slots in my NAS are occupied.

I want to expand vol1, I have a new SSD 4Tb size.
Asustor support claims that replacing the disk of vol1 is impossible without a complete reinstallation of the system

I do not think so, I want to do the following:
1. Turn off NAS

2. On another Linux computer clone the old volume1 SSD 2Tb to a new SSD 4 Tb with dd command.
Expand file system on new SSD with resize2fs command

3. Insert a new 4 Tb SSD with cloned volume 1 in my NAS instead of the old 2Tb SSD disk

4. Turn on my NAS

Should I do anything else to get the NAS to boot properly?
Does anyone have experience expanding volume 1 the same way?
User avatar
snapshot
Posts: 153
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2013 6:58 am
Location: Wiltshire, England

Re: Replacing Volume1 disk with a larger drive

Post by snapshot »

Remember that answers from support will only be in the context of what can be done on the NAS so they were perfectly correct within their frame of reference. It's worth trying what you propose as the original SSD won't be affected and canbe replaced if it doesn't work.
AlterMax
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2023 2:16 pm

Re: Replacing Volume1 disk with a larger drive

Post by AlterMax »

Thanks, that's clear.

I'll try this method later after I find a space to back up the entire NAS.
jarda
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon May 06, 2024 4:14 pm

Re: Replacing Volume1 disk with a larger drive

Post by jarda »

How did your progress go?
ivanyu
Posts: 55
Joined: Tue May 02, 2023 12:17 am

Re: Replacing Volume1 disk with a larger drive

Post by ivanyu »

I thought even though your volume 1 is a single drive and not part of any RAID, ADM still uses mdadm to create it as raid 1 (to cater for future raid changes).
My volume 1 is a single SSD (not part of any RAID), but it still shows as raid 1.
Anyway, I would love to know your clone result.

root@MY-NAS:/volume1/.@root # mdadm --detail /dev/md1
/dev/md1:
Version : 1.2
Creation Time : Sat Mar 23 16:58:37 2024
Raid Level : raid1
Array Size : 483798016 (461.39 GiB 495.41 GB)
Used Dev Size : 483798016 (461.39 GiB 495.41 GB)
Raid Devices : 1
Total Devices : 1
Persistence : Superblock is persistent

Update Time : Sun Jun 9 16:38:44 2024
State : clean
Active Devices : 1
Working Devices : 1
Failed Devices : 0
Spare Devices : 0
Post Reply

Return to “ADM general”