It is currently Tue Nov 19, 2019 10:22 am
All times are UTC + 8 hours

Recreating a volume due to resizing

Recreating a volume due to resizing

Postby dkobelak » Wed Jul 10, 2019 5:52 am

I originally posted the message here viewtopic.php?f=45&t=10398
not sure if this is a better area for it to get some eyes on, so figured I would repost it in case..

So I have a question when it comes to deleting and recreating a volume..
to start off all my personal data is backed up on a different NAS. currently i only have one volume (volume1) which consists of 4x3tb drives.. since we can not downsize a raid volume i understand I will have to delete it and recreate a new one.. I do not want to replace all 4 disks to bigger ones as it will be too expensive getting all 4 disks at once. I plan on starting new volume with 2x10TB.. now, here are my questions.. what actually happens when I delete volume1? I assume all my insalled apps in ADM will be gone? will I have access to ADM or will I need to do initial setup from scratch? what is the easiest way (if any) of doing this without having to setup my NAS from scratch (ex. setup apps and IP, etc.)? is there any way to backup ADM profile?
another idea is to shutdown NAS, remove my current 4x3tb disks and install 2x10tb and boot up.. would that take me through new initialization or will it just error out bc previous volume1 has not been deleted? this option would be better because I would still have my original disks with data as a second backup..
any help would be great..
AS-5104T running stock memory;RAID 5 - 4x3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300;BIOS: v1.21 - ADM: 3.4.1.R7Q4
AS-6204T running stock memory;RAID 5 - 3x8TB Seagate Ironwolf ST8000VN0022;BIOS: v2.23 - ADM: 3.4.1.R7Q4
dkobelak
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2016 2:21 am

Re: Recreating a volume due to resizing

Postby orion » Wed Jul 10, 2019 10:14 am

Your four disks are 3TB. And you want to replace with 2 * 10TB disks. It implies that ADM configuration data (and apps) cannot transfer to the new disks within one step. I believe you need to re-initialize NAS.

Yes, you can backup ADM profile / configuration (under Backup & Restore). However I believe it's not including app's configuration. And you still need to re-install applications after re-initialize NAS.
User avatar
orion
 
Posts: 2389
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 11:09 am

Re: Recreating a volume due to resizing

Postby dkobelak » Wed Jul 10, 2019 10:24 pm

orion wrote:Your four disks are 3TB. And you want to replace with 2 * 10TB disks. It implies that ADM configuration data (and apps) cannot transfer to the new disks within one step. I believe you need to re-initialize NAS.

Yes, you can backup ADM profile / configuration (under Backup & Restore). However I believe it's not including app's configuration. And you still need to re-install applications after re-initialize NAS.


great, just located the backup option for profile.. so is there a preferred or lets say better way of doing the replacement? i only see two options this can be done. either delete volume1 and remove old disks, install new and do initialize from ADM (but i believe by doing that data on old disks gets wiped when volume is deleted).. second option i would probably prefer if it works, is to shut down NAS, remove old disks, install new ones and I hope it would do a new initialization and then i would restore all the data from backup.. also I would have my old 4 disks as a second backup in case.. hope someone can confirm this..
AS-5104T running stock memory;RAID 5 - 4x3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300;BIOS: v1.21 - ADM: 3.4.1.R7Q4
AS-6204T running stock memory;RAID 5 - 3x8TB Seagate Ironwolf ST8000VN0022;BIOS: v2.23 - ADM: 3.4.1.R7Q4
dkobelak
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2016 2:21 am

Re: Recreating a volume due to resizing

Postby orion » Thu Jul 11, 2019 10:22 am

There is only one way, i.e., your second option. Yes, your 4 old disks can be a full backup. You can shutdown NAS, replace with those 4 disks, turn NAS on. Everything should be back to the original state.

PS: The first way that you said is actually not a standard way (remove existed disks and replace with new disks). I believe asustor should not test this case.
User avatar
orion
 
Posts: 2389
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 11:09 am

Return to [Official] For AS50xx/51xx Series

  • You cannot post new topics in this forum
    You cannot reply to topics in this forum
    You cannot edit your posts in this forum
    You cannot delete your posts in this forum
    You cannot post attachments in this forum
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests