ADM factory reset without loosing raid

This is where you can find the latest ADM official release. Feel free to discuss any questions regarding it here.

Moderator: Lillian.W@AST

ChrisB
youtube meble na wymiar Warszawa

ADM factory reset without loosing raid

Post by ChrisB »

Coming from a self built NAS server (debian based) and having bought an AS7010T I am wondering what the best strategy is when setting up the storage volumes. In my old NAS I had a hdd for the system (of course with full back up capability) and separated raid 5 clusters with my actual storage data. In case I messed up my system I could do easily a "factory reset" by simply reinstalling the system from scratch (and reconfiguring the settings) or restore the system from a working backup without touching my data raids. What I saw so far - and I am new to Asustor or other plug n play NAS solutions - the manual suggests to configure the data raid as volume 1 and mdstat lists a raid 1 which I suppose is for mirroring the system config. I also tried a factory reset which led to a complete reset of Volume 1 thus I would have lost all the data in a working environment. Is there another way of resetting the system configuration or in general: what is the best way of setting up my system based on your best practise? As I have now 10 hdd bays I don' t have to equip all of them with data drives. Do you see a benefit of setting up a single hdd or a raid 1 array as Volume 1? Data on Volume 2 would then stay untouched in case of a system reset, right? If so: do you see a benefit in using SSDs as Volume 1 to improve performance for example to be used for transcoding? Do the built in services (like web server, ...) rely on having the config and data folders on Volume1 or could they be configered to use also other volumes?
Sorry for asking all these questions but as I explained I am coming from a system which was totaly configurable and now I have to follow some design guidelines that I am not familiar with.