It is currently Wed Nov 25, 2020 5:09 am
All times are UTC + 8 hours

LMS keeps NAS awake

Logitech Media Server (formerly SlimServer, SqueezeCenter and Squeezebox Server) is a streaming audio server supported by Logitech (formerly Slim Devices), developed in particular to support their Squeezebox range of digital audio receivers.The software is designed for streaming music over a network, allowing users to play their music collections from virtually anywhere there is an Internet connection.

Moderators: JohnnyFive, clinton.hall

LMS keeps NAS awake

Postby Hooky » Thu Feb 13, 2014 8:44 pm

With LMS installed and running I can't seem to put my AS202TE to sleep. I have the front button configured to put it to sleep, it flashes the lights as if it's going to and then doesn't, same behaviour via web interface and scheduled sleep. Shutdown works via web interface.

Any ideas?
Hooky
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 10:04 pm

Re: LMS keeps NAS awake

Postby clinton.hall » Fri Feb 14, 2014 5:45 am

Not really surprised. Sleep is often hard to achieve when processes are running that access the HDDs.

Look at settings to see if there are any schedules where the timing can be increased (specifically if there is a regular scan of media libraries etc)
AS-604T
3 x ST4000DM0000 (Seagate 4TB) in Raid5
2 GB RAM expansion
AS-302T

Apps (user)
NZBGet - CouchPotato - SickBeard - Git - Python

Apps (maintainer):
NZBGet - BitTorrent Sync - Mylar - LazyLibrarian - Gamez
-Maintenance of Apps acquired from JohhnyFive since ADM2.0:
SABnzbd - CouchPotato - SickBeard - HeadPhones - Subsonic

About Me: http://fockwulf.wix.com/index
User avatar
clinton.hall
 
Posts: 839
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 7:01 pm
Location: New Zealand

Re: LMS keeps NAS awake

Postby Hooky » Fri Feb 14, 2014 8:49 pm

I'm not sure if it's like that. The hdd's spin down ok and will remain like that until accessed specifically. LMS is generally pretty good, i've had it on various NAS and OS' but never seen this before, they've been able to enter sleep. It's like there's some privelidged process running that refuses to die!

Thanks so much for LMS btw, and getting Local Player running too is amazing. I'm trying to use a Creative Xmod (USB Soundcard thing) to output the sound from it but theres nowhere to change the default audio device on the AS202TE, do you think altering asound.conf would work??
Hooky
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 10:04 pm

Re: LMS keeps NAS awake

Postby clinton.hall » Sat Feb 15, 2014 4:33 am

I struggles with getting the local player working... I don't have USB cards, so I rely on others to help test this... I did see options to select the audio device for output when multiple outputs exist... But can't verify if playback worked on all devices (connected remotely to a system for testing).

At this stage, if you can track down any process that is holding the NAS to ransom, or you can find any changes to get the sound output working, I am happy to modify the APP! But my ability to troubleshoot/diagnose is limited when it comes to this App.... I wish JohnnyFive was around for this one ;)
AS-604T
3 x ST4000DM0000 (Seagate 4TB) in Raid5
2 GB RAM expansion
AS-302T

Apps (user)
NZBGet - CouchPotato - SickBeard - Git - Python

Apps (maintainer):
NZBGet - BitTorrent Sync - Mylar - LazyLibrarian - Gamez
-Maintenance of Apps acquired from JohhnyFive since ADM2.0:
SABnzbd - CouchPotato - SickBeard - HeadPhones - Subsonic

About Me: http://fockwulf.wix.com/index
User avatar
clinton.hall
 
Posts: 839
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 7:01 pm
Location: New Zealand

Re: LMS keeps NAS awake

Postby Hooky » Tue Feb 18, 2014 12:27 am

clinton.hall wrote:... I did see options to select the audio device for output when multiple outputs exist...


Was this within the settings for Local Player (within LMS)? There's an option in there to select channel ie, left or right stereo. If you saw an option to select output device anywhere else i'd love to know where that was.
Hooky
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 10:04 pm

Re: LMS keeps NAS awake

Postby Hooky » Tue Feb 18, 2014 3:43 am

clinton.hall wrote:At this stage, if you can track down any process that is holding the NAS to ransom,


So it turns out its the squeezelite process from installing Local Player that keeps the NAS from sleeping. My Linux is so poor that i'm not really sure what i'm asking, but can it be run in a less 'privileged' way do you think?

Code: Select all
Shutting down Logitech Media Server at Mon Feb 17 17:50:27 GMT 2014...
Stopping Logitech Media Server 7.7.2-33893 (please wait) . OK.
Stopping thttpd-ssods .. OK.
rm: cannot remove `/opt/ssods4/var/run/thttpd-ssods.pid': Permission denied
WARNING: rc.ssods ERROR: script /opt/ssods4/etc/init.d/K21thttpd-ssods failed.
killall: can't kill pid 18210: Operation not permitted
rm: remove '/usr/local/AppCentral/lms/ssoas/var/run/thttpd-ssods.pid'? y
rm: can't remove '/usr/local/AppCentral/lms/ssoas/var/run/thttpd-ssods.pid': Permission denied
rm: can't remove '/opt/ssods4': Permission denied


(squeezelite is pid18210)

Thanks, H.
Hooky
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 10:04 pm

Re: LMS keeps NAS awake

Postby clinton.hall » Tue Feb 18, 2014 2:43 pm

Interesting... what user were you logged in as to test this?

One issue here is that in order to get the player to run, it needs to be started as root... so if you login as admin, you probably can't stop this...

Can I suggest you login as root, stop the package then edit /volume1/.@plugins/AppCentral/lms/CONTROL/start-stop.sh

in the section StartPkg(), just comment out (add # in front of) the following line

Code: Select all
${PLAYER} --${PLAYER_OPTS}


and in ShutdownPkg(), just comment out

Code: Select all
killall squeezelite


This will stop the player from running and will allow you to use the standard server... if you want the player running, we will have some work to do!
AS-604T
3 x ST4000DM0000 (Seagate 4TB) in Raid5
2 GB RAM expansion
AS-302T

Apps (user)
NZBGet - CouchPotato - SickBeard - Git - Python

Apps (maintainer):
NZBGet - BitTorrent Sync - Mylar - LazyLibrarian - Gamez
-Maintenance of Apps acquired from JohhnyFive since ADM2.0:
SABnzbd - CouchPotato - SickBeard - HeadPhones - Subsonic

About Me: http://fockwulf.wix.com/index
User avatar
clinton.hall
 
Posts: 839
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 7:01 pm
Location: New Zealand

Re: LMS keeps NAS awake

Postby Hooky » Wed Feb 19, 2014 4:16 am

Aha! You're right, I was logged in as admin, didn't realise there was a difference. No errors as root.

Actually if there's a way to avoid work we should take it! I'm not that worried about sleep over shutdown, and shutdown works fine i think. What would really be great is if i could use my usb soundcard thing with squeezlite. I've tried altering the etc/asound.conf file but it gets overwritten on startup, do you know of any way i can set the NAS to use this output?

Code: Select all
root@Chubbers:~ # cat /proc/asound/cards
 0 [IntelCE310041  ]:  -

 1 [Wireless       ]: USB-Audio - Creative Xmod Wireless
                      Creative Technology Ltd Creative Xmod Wireless at usb-0000:01:0d.2-1, full spee


It sees it ok, so i'm hoping its possible.

Also Local player / squeezlite doesn't start on boot, only by restarting LMS (probably while logged in as root i think), could I add this to a startup script?

Cheers, H
Hooky
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 10:04 pm

Re: LMS keeps NAS awake

Postby clinton.hall » Fri Feb 21, 2014 10:12 am

To be honest I struggled to get LMS to work with local player... It should start on boot (it is in the start-up script) but it may have some order conflich with other Apps / services (it needs x-org to be restarted).

I had hoped to support usb player, but clearly this isn't working. I don't have one to test, so I can't be sure.

If you find anything, I'll happily apply changes to the App.
AS-604T
3 x ST4000DM0000 (Seagate 4TB) in Raid5
2 GB RAM expansion
AS-302T

Apps (user)
NZBGet - CouchPotato - SickBeard - Git - Python

Apps (maintainer):
NZBGet - BitTorrent Sync - Mylar - LazyLibrarian - Gamez
-Maintenance of Apps acquired from JohhnyFive since ADM2.0:
SABnzbd - CouchPotato - SickBeard - HeadPhones - Subsonic

About Me: http://fockwulf.wix.com/index
User avatar
clinton.hall
 
Posts: 839
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 7:01 pm
Location: New Zealand

Re: LMS keeps NAS awake

Postby Hooky » Fri Feb 28, 2014 11:00 pm

Hi Clinton,

I now have it all working nicely through my usb soundcard, only mp3's won't play (flac will), nearly there i feel!

I noticed this in the LMS thread:
clinton.hall wrote:https://www.dropbox.com/s/o77wlzb6th7tgdy/lms_7.7.2.r0127c_any.apk

Loads all codec libs on 3 series and 6 series.
libfaac
libmpg123
libFLAC
libvorbisidec

So this should work for you.

Please let me know if it does... then I'll try and put this into AppCentral


Presumably this got pushed to the latest LMS in App central, and if so should it work on a 2 series?

(I get this error from LMS:
[14-02-28 14:06:13.9132] Slim::Player::Song::open (409) Error: Couldn't create command line for mp3 playback for [file:///VOL1/Music/St.%20Vincent/Marry%20Me/10%20-%20Human%20Racing.mp3])

Thanks, Hooky
Hooky
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 10:04 pm

Next

Return to Logitech Media Server (Beta)

  • You cannot post new topics in this forum
    You cannot reply to topics in this forum
    You cannot edit your posts in this forum
    You cannot delete your posts in this forum
    You cannot post attachments in this forum
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron