New AS6204T from Florida

New to the forum? Introduce yourself, chit chat and chew the fat.
kevmeist
youtube meble na wymiar Warszawa

New AS6204T from Florida

Post by kevmeist »

Just bought an 6204T and put 3 * 4TB HGST drives in it. Setup seemed relatively easy although I had to search for the default admin username and password. Maybe this should be up front somewhere when the setup runs?

Backup to a MyArchive disk in Bay 4 seems very slow to me. It's going to take about 9 hours at current rates for, I think, 600 to 700GB of data pulled over from my Windows Home Server box. I could dump all of my files from the WHS box to a Fantom 2TB drive in about 20 minutes...maybe less.

I do NOT understand why a disk to disk transfer inside the 6204T should be so slow.

How to back up PCs on the network took a little bit of finding (for others, search for "Backup Plan for Windows" on the web). I have NOT tried running this yet.

I am a retired software developer of about 45 years.
orion

Re: New AS6204T from Florida

Post by orion »

Greetings!

How do you connect your WHS box to your AS6204T? I guess it's USB interface, right? The speed (700GB takes 6 hours) is only 22MB/s. I think it's USB 2.0 controller, rather than USB 3.0. USB controller is normally working in relatively low speed (compared to native SATA interface). I guess HGST 4TB HDD should be able to reach 150MB/s easily (continuous read). However, if you put this HDD into a USB box, the speed should be much lower than 150MB/s (even it's USB 3.0 interface).

If you do internal disk data transfer on AS6204T, I believe you should be able to see the throughput near to 150MB/s.
kevmeist

Post by kevmeist »

No, I did NOT connect the WHS to the AS6204T at all.

This is what I did:
1. I used the WHS to dump all of my shares to a 2TB Fantom ESATA drive attached to the WHS box
2. Then I attached that same ESATA drive to the AS6204T and copied the files across to the AS6204T.