It is currently Sat Jan 23, 2021 6:10 am
All times are UTC + 8 hours

"Clone" old NAS to new NAS?

Share your awesome tips and tricks here.

"Clone" old NAS to new NAS?

Postby Muyfa666 » Tue Mar 27, 2018 10:26 pm

I have a 5102 that I wish to exchange to a new 6202 with new harddrives.

How can I do this the easiest way? Are there anyway to kind of "clone" so I don't have to make a new setup?
Muyfa666
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2015 12:14 am

Re: "Clone" old NAS to new NAS?

Postby Antonios » Wed Mar 28, 2018 3:29 am

Try sector by sector cloning of old HDDs onto new ones using some pc or linux machine, lots of software around to do that.

Then, if it works, it works. If not, no harm done.

Just my 2c.
Antonios
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Tue Jun 27, 2017 1:05 pm

Re: "Clone" old NAS to new NAS?

Postby Muyfa666 » Wed Mar 28, 2018 4:50 am

You mean pick the discs out, clone one by one, then try the new discs in the new NAS?
Muyfa666
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2015 12:14 am

Re: "Clone" old NAS to new NAS?

Postby orion » Wed Mar 28, 2018 9:53 am

Set your volume as RAID-1. After volume synchronized, remove one of disk from the old NAS. Put this disk to new NAS, then power it on. Put new disk to new NAS to sync volume. After done, remove old disk from the new NAS. Put a new disk to the new NAS to rebuild volume again. Done.
User avatar
orion
 
Posts: 2867
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 11:09 am

Re: "Clone" old NAS to new NAS?

Postby Muyfa666 » Fri Mar 30, 2018 12:18 am

Aha. Thanks. That should work and be quite safe.

EDIT: Ok, how do I know when the rebuild is done?

EDIT2: Nevermind, I got it. :-)
Muyfa666
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2015 12:14 am

Re: "Clone" old NAS to new NAS?

Postby Antonios » Fri Mar 30, 2018 8:53 am

If I understand this correctly, it means that once you setup a Raid-1 and then remove both HDDs and then insert another alien HDD, say part of a Raid-5 then the NAS:

1. Will actually startup with that HDD in slot 1.

2. Will think it is part of the missing Raid-1 array and will actually attempt to copy it to a new HDD by rebulding the missing Raid-1 array.

3. While 1. and 2. is happening, NAS won't attempt to read anything of this alien HDD as nothing on it would make any sense to the NAS.

Sure would like to see this in action.

Just my 2c.
Antonios
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Tue Jun 27, 2017 1:05 pm

Re: "Clone" old NAS to new NAS?

Postby Muyfa666 » Fri Mar 30, 2018 3:41 pm

I have little understanding of the how's and why's, but orion's suggestions works as intended. :-)

Took about 7 hours per disk.
Muyfa666
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2015 12:14 am

Return to Tips & Tricks

  • You cannot post new topics in this forum
    You cannot reply to topics in this forum
    You cannot edit your posts in this forum
    You cannot delete your posts in this forum
    You cannot post attachments in this forum
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests