It is currently Sat Jan 23, 2021 7:22 am
All times are UTC + 8 hours

factory default rest

Share your awesome tips and tricks here.

factory default rest

Postby igracgq » Wed Nov 06, 2019 9:51 am

I just need somebody's confirmation. If I choose to do a factory default rest, will it erase the data on my 2 harddrives inside my nas, or will it only reset the ADM OS to its default state and leave the two volumes alone and not format those drives?

thanks
AS-602 with 3GB ram, 4TB WD Red

Qnap TS-119, DD-WRT Linksys 310n, WDlxTV player, RasperryPi OpenELEC
igracgq
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Nov 17, 2013 4:57 am

Re: factory default rest

Postby orion » Wed Nov 06, 2019 10:06 am

"factory default reset" will erase all of NAS configuration data, including your volume information. It means you will lose all of your data.
However, "erase your data" and "lose your data" are different. In any cases, you should treat them the same.
User avatar
orion
 
Posts: 2867
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 11:09 am

Re: factory default rest

Postby igracgq » Wed Nov 06, 2019 10:17 am

oh wow... i didn't think it would format both of my hard drives and erase all the documents/media/etc that I have stored on it... I figured it would only touch the ADM OS data/settings/apps and not my personal files... That's unfortunate

Thanks for the help
AS-602 with 3GB ram, 4TB WD Red

Qnap TS-119, DD-WRT Linksys 310n, WDlxTV player, RasperryPi OpenELEC
igracgq
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Nov 17, 2013 4:57 am

Return to Tips & Tricks

  • You cannot post new topics in this forum
    You cannot reply to topics in this forum
    You cannot edit your posts in this forum
    You cannot delete your posts in this forum
    You cannot post attachments in this forum
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest