It is currently Tue May 21, 2019 1:00 am
All times are UTC + 8 hours

Wipe old NAS disk

Share your awesome tips and tricks here.

Wipe old NAS disk

Postby EdwindeKok » Sun May 05, 2019 7:19 pm

I have a AS3102T. I used to have to 2Tb hard disks. After disk doctor reported an unstable disk I replaced the hard disks for two new 4 Tb hard disks.

Before I throw away the broken disk I want to wipe it. I want to use the other disk as a drive to backup my laptop.

I have a SATA to USB cable but when I use it Windows doesn't see the hard drive. I think that is because there is no Windows on the drive. I have also tried it in a external drive housing so the drive has power on it. I tried it with the windows disk manager but the result remains the same.

I tried CCcleaner and Wipe but without result.

How can I acces the disks?
EdwindeKok
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Dec 24, 2014 8:19 pm

Re: Wipe old NAS disk

Postby orion » Mon May 06, 2019 10:35 am

Windows-10? You should be able to delete all of partitions on the disk. After that, you can create new partitions.
User avatar
orion
 
Posts: 2240
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 11:09 am

Re: Wipe old NAS disk

Postby EdwindeKok » Tue May 07, 2019 7:48 pm

How can I delete partitions if Windows 10 doesn't recognise the disk?
EdwindeKok
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Dec 24, 2014 8:19 pm

Re: Wipe old NAS disk

Postby orion » Wed May 08, 2019 10:28 am

I did not try it. You should google the solutions. One of them: http://www.winability.com/delete-protected-efi-disk-partition/
User avatar
orion
 
Posts: 2240
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 11:09 am

Re: Wipe old NAS disk

Postby FlyingDutchman » Wed May 08, 2019 3:47 pm

Hi all.

The link that orion put in his post is the proper way to do this.
Because all the discs in your nas are formatted in ext4, an that is a linux system.
Windows works only with MBR (older system) or GPT (used on new windows systems).

MBR >>> https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Master_boot_record
GPT >>> https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/GUID_Partition_Table

Go right ahead from the CMD and when you have done this DON`T format your discs in mbr or gpt, just leave it blank (black).
Just put your disc back in to your nas, when you install ADM again it will make ext4 again.
From there on its up to you (RAID) ..... 8-)
User avatar
FlyingDutchman
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2016 3:18 am

Return to Tips & Tricks

  • You cannot post new topics in this forum
    You cannot reply to topics in this forum
    You cannot edit your posts in this forum
    You cannot delete your posts in this forum
    You cannot post attachments in this forum
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron