It is currently Tue Aug 21, 2018 4:29 pm
All times are UTC + 8 hours

adding drive

Share your awesome tips and tricks here.

adding drive

Postby kdwg1308 » Fri Sep 11, 2015 5:48 am

i've had a as204te for a couple of months with a wd red 3tb drive. the idea was to rip all my music onto it for streaming through my hi-fi. great no problems.
i didn't intend to do anything else but then tried ripping my dvd-bluray collection it. it proved a lot easier than i thought so ive just kept at it.

now that drive is just about full so i've bought another, put it in to double my storage but the second drive is just sitting there inactive. looking through here it looks like ive made a bit of a mess of this as i thought i could plug in drives and get them to add the storage together to give me one big drive. is that not correct? if not then how do i go about it?
i'm not interested in backup, i have all the physical media so back up is irrelevant, the streaming is for convenience.

thanks

ken
kdwg1308
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2015 5:25 am

Re: adding drive

Postby Stik » Fri Sep 11, 2015 9:59 am

I am new to Asustor but I do know that when you put in a new drive you will not see it until you create the volume in storage manager
and then create a shared folder on it under access control.
Stik
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2015 1:52 pm
Location: Adelaide, South Australia

Re: adding drive

Postby kdwg1308 » Fri Sep 11, 2015 3:45 pm

hi stik,
thanks for that. if I create another volume will that give me all the storage or mirror as backup? also will it delete the data already on the first disk?

thanks again.

ken
kdwg1308
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2015 5:25 am

Re: adding drive

Postby orion » Fri Sep 11, 2015 5:04 pm

You should create a new "single" volume (ADM web -> Storage Manager). Then, you'll see a new "volume-2" created. Your first WD 3TB disk should be "volume-1". The original shared folders (like Public, Download, ...) should locate at volume-1.

After that, you'll need to create another shared folder (for example, share2. ADM web -> Access Control -> Shared Folders) that locate at volume-2. You should be able to access "share2" from network. That's not mirror / backup. Your data on volume-1 will not be changed.
User avatar
orion
 
Posts: 2027
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 11:09 am

Re: adding drive

Postby kdwg1308 » Fri Sep 11, 2015 6:36 pm

many thanks for that orion.
that looks pretty straight forward and i will try that tonight when i get home.

thanks again to you both

ken
kdwg1308
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2015 5:25 am

Re: adding drive

Postby kdwg1308 » Sun Jan 14, 2018 9:36 pm

me again,
i've added 4th drive to my nas, i can see it as volume 4 in storage manager, i can see it as share 4 in file explorer, its setting are the same as the other discs and yet its not showing up on my my network, either with upnp or dnla.

any thoughts on where i'm going wrong?

thanks

ken
kdwg1308
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2015 5:25 am

Re: adding drive

Postby orion » Mon Jan 15, 2018 10:27 am

If "settings are the same", I think you can try to restart those services (upnp and dlna, not sure what the applications you installed). Go to App Central, disable them, enable them again.
User avatar
orion
 
Posts: 2027
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 11:09 am

Re: adding drive

Postby kdwg1308 » Tue Jan 16, 2018 2:50 am

thanks Orion, will give that a try.

ken
kdwg1308
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2015 5:25 am

Re: adding drive

Postby kdwg1308 » Sat Jan 20, 2018 8:22 pm

thanks orion, got it working now.
tried what you said, also moved a file into the drive and it shows up now.

thanks again

ken
kdwg1308
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2015 5:25 am

Return to Tips & Tricks

  • You cannot post new topics in this forum
    You cannot reply to topics in this forum
    You cannot edit your posts in this forum
    You cannot delete your posts in this forum
    You cannot post attachments in this forum
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest