It is currently Thu Nov 15, 2018 6:52 pm
All times are UTC + 8 hours

VM won't boot up after ADM (3.0.5.RDU1) update

Just about everything is virtual these days. Topics relating to virutalization go here.

Re: VM won't boot up after ADM (3.0.5.RDU1) update

Postby pierremillien » Wed Feb 07, 2018 9:21 pm

Hello guys,

I opened a ticket at asustor regarding those complains. I got an answer this morning from Asustor. It seems that a downgrade is possible.
I didn't try the procedure yet, but will this evenig.
If someone read this and want to test here is the procedure,
Hope it helps some of you till the bugfix for VirtualBox is closed.


Code: Select all
Please SSH to NAS ( https://support.asustor.com/index.php?/Default/Knowledgebase/Article/View/190/22/how-to-ssh-into-my-asustor-nas )
in shell prompt , pls type the following commands

confutil -set /etc/nas.conf Basic Version 3.0.0 <enter>
confutil -set /etc/nas.conf Basic Baseversion 3.0.0 <enter>

After above commands , please download ADM 3.0.4 image file from http://europe.asustor.com/download/adm/AS70XX_3.0.4.RCQ1.img (for AS7004T)
then go to NAS Settings -> ADM Update -> Manual Update -> Browse -> OK


Regards,
pierremillien
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:42 am

Re: VM won't boot up after ADM (3.0.5.RDU1) update

Postby mcbo » Wed Feb 07, 2018 11:44 pm

Great :D :D :D , on my AS5102T it worked with this image:

for AS50XX http://europe.asustor.com/download/adm/AS50XX_3.0.4.RCQ1.img


Thank you
mcbo
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2018 5:05 am

Re: VM won't boot up after ADM (3.0.5.RDU1) update

Postby giostark » Thu Feb 08, 2018 6:46 am

AngeL wrote:Hello guys, I can confirm this also for 62xx series.

Someone asked here about ADM Beta 3.1 has anyone tried to upgrade from 3.0.5 to 3.1 beta and maybe then VirtualBox works? Please can someone try this and let us know asap by replying to this thread.

I see this update was released 1 week ago and there is still no fix? I imagine that alot of users like myself use asustor mainly for virtualization so we need a fix fast.


Im using the 3.1 beta and not , the VirtualBox didnt work on the beta version. We have to wait.
giostark
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2018 11:22 pm

Re: VM won't boot up after ADM (3.0.5.RDU1) update

Postby giostark » Thu Feb 08, 2018 7:02 am

pierremillien wrote:Hello guys,

I opened a ticket at asustor regarding those complains. I got an answer this morning from Asustor. It seems that a downgrade is possible.
I didn't try the procedure yet, but will this evenig.
If someone read this and want to test here is the procedure,
Hope it helps some of you till the bugfix for VirtualBox is closed.


Code: Select all
Please SSH to NAS ( https://support.asustor.com/index.php?/Default/Knowledgebase/Article/View/190/22/how-to-ssh-into-my-asustor-nas )
in shell prompt , pls type the following commands

confutil -set /etc/nas.conf Basic Version 3.0.0 <enter>
confutil -set /etc/nas.conf Basic Baseversion 3.0.0 <enter>

After above commands , please download ADM 3.0.4 image file from http://europe.asustor.com/download/adm/AS70XX_3.0.4.RCQ1.img (for AS7004T)
then go to NAS Settings -> ADM Update -> Manual Update -> Browse -> OK


Regards,

edit:
Never mind . Despite the downgrade still the Virtualbox tab continue to just blink and disappear. So I cant reach the tool for configure the virtual machines.
Some one experienced the same issue? Any help is appreciated !
Last edited by giostark on Thu Feb 08, 2018 8:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
giostark
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2018 11:22 pm

Re: VM won't boot up after ADM (3.0.5.RDU1) update

Postby giostark » Thu Feb 08, 2018 8:13 am

mcbo wrote:Great :D :D :D , on my AS5102T it worked with this image:

for AS50XX http://europe.asustor.com/download/adm/AS50XX_3.0.4.RCQ1.img


Thank you


I tried also this image but the tab of VirtualBox still blink and disappear. :(
This behavior is the same under Arch , win 7 pro, win 10 pro , using firefox , konqeror ecc ecc.
I cant figure why it act like this.
Still if someone have a suggestion many thanks !
giostark
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2018 11:22 pm

Re: VM won't boot up after ADM (3.0.5.RDU1) update

Postby jauling » Fri Feb 09, 2018 1:10 am

This is where reading release notes is highly beneficial! :lol:

Snarky comment aside, I'm kind of thinking that Asustor was forced to publish this 3.0.5 ADM release to address spectre/meltdown ASAP. Normally they wouldn't release something that would break a widely used app like Virtualbox.

Let's hope that the Virtualbox app author publishes an updated version, or a fixed ADM comes out soon. (hoping for the former)
jauling
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2017 1:34 am
Location: Amsterdam

Re: VM won't boot up after ADM (3.0.5.RDU1) update

Postby Patrick » Fri Feb 09, 2018 7:42 pm

I just got reply message from Asustor Support Center that they have solution to fix the issue today.
The updated Virtualbox app is under testing, it may be possible to release the version next week.
Let's wait for a while for this good news.
Have a nice weekend.
AS3204T / AS6102T , ADM 3.1
Patrick
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2017 10:00 am

Re: VM won't boot up after ADM (3.0.5.RDU1) update

Postby AngeL » Sat Feb 10, 2018 12:46 am

Thanks StanleyHsu that is great news.

Also guys in the meantime you can try this solution:
In App Central find and install Linux Center, then open it, and you can safely install Debian 8 or Debian 8 Server, and use it with remote desktop, its easy to set up, works good, but then it boots up straight into Debian with HDMI output, and remote desktop if you enable it, so you cant use kodi unless you login to ADM from pc for example, and disable Linux Center, then you can use kodi and asustor portal again.
AngeL
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2018 1:25 am

Re: VM won't boot up after ADM (3.0.5.RDU1) update

Postby Patrick » Tue Feb 13, 2018 6:02 pm

:D :D :D

Good news !!

Asustor release new Virturalbox App (5.1.14.r04) which can work in ADM 3.0.5.RDU1 today.

From the changelog and description, this version is only for ADM 3.0.5.RDU1 now.

It should be related to kernel update for Meltdown and Spectre issue in ADM 3.0.5.

This Virtualbox app is put into Beta Apps first, since Asustor need to keep original version for ADM 3.0.4 or older user, and also for ADM Beta 3.1.0 user to avoid this kind of problem happened again.

Anyway, thanks for the update to fix this issue.
AS3204T / AS6102T , ADM 3.1
Patrick
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2017 10:00 am

Re: VM won't boot up after ADM (3.0.5.RDU1) update

Postby st.graf » Wed Feb 14, 2018 2:50 am

Hi ,

just to confirm , installed 5.1.14.r04(Beta) on my 6204T and it works fine :-)
st.graf
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2018 2:41 am

PreviousNext

Return to Virtualization

  • You cannot post new topics in this forum
    You cannot reply to topics in this forum
    You cannot edit your posts in this forum
    You cannot delete your posts in this forum
    You cannot post attachments in this forum
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest