It is currently Tue May 22, 2018 4:56 am
All times are UTC + 8 hours

Backup plan shows no folders during setup

Backup and data protection discussion at its finest.

Backup plan shows no folders during setup

Postby Pauhana » Wed May 17, 2017 5:35 am

I'm trying to setup a weekly backup of my laptop to the NAS. Downloaded and installed Backup Plan. Created a shared folder called "Backups" on volume 1 of the NAS. (The folder shows up in the web interface for Access Control -> Shared Folders). The problem: when I go through the setup steps described in the documentation (NAS_253_Introduction_to_Backup_Plan.pdf), in step 7 (the selection of the NAS folder to make use of), I am not present with the expected list of NAS folders. Can anyone point me to what I'm doing wrong? Thanks!
Pauhana
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2015 6:37 am

Re: Backup plan shows no folders during setup

Postby orion » Wed May 17, 2017 10:10 am

I guess that you did not grant the correct access rights. You should check what's your account name used by PC: ADM web page -> System Information -> Online User. Then you should check the access rights: ADM web -> Access Control.
User avatar
orion
 
Posts: 1970
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 11:09 am

Re: Backup plan shows no folders during setup

Postby Pauhana » Wed May 17, 2017 2:39 pm

ADM web page -> System Information -> Online User shows user to be admin
ADM web -> Access Control shows access rights to the Backups folder having admin RW

Still no listing of destination folders. Not sure what else to check...
Pauhana
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2015 6:37 am

Re: Backup plan shows no folders during setup

Postby sksbir » Wed May 17, 2017 3:41 pm

hi
please check : ADM web --> access control --> shared folder --> check folder you want to use --> clic on "access right", and see if user account used in step 4 have write access. If it is admin, then admin must have "rw" checked.
sksbir
 
Posts: 277
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2015 9:23 pm

Re: Backup plan shows no folders during setup

Postby orion » Wed May 17, 2017 3:44 pm

That's totally weird. Did you see 2 items in online user list?
  • admin by HTTP/HTTPS
  • admin by SAMBA
SAMBA protocol is the right item that you need to check (used by Backup Plan). You need to execute Backup Plan, then check online user list.
User avatar
orion
 
Posts: 1970
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 11:09 am

Re: Backup plan shows no folders during setup

Postby sksbir » Wed May 17, 2017 3:57 pm

orion wrote:.....SAMBA protocol is the right item that you need to check (used by Backup Plan).
seriously ?
wow, I will never use that software if this is true : smb is far the best to do backups. I will prefer to install for example Filezilla Ftp server on PC side, and activate some ftp backup from PC to NAS...
sksbir
 
Posts: 277
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2015 9:23 pm

Re: Backup plan shows no folders during setup

Postby orion » Wed May 17, 2017 4:10 pm

sksbir wrote:seriously ?
wow, I will never use that software if this is true : smb is far the best to do backups. I will prefer to install for example Filezilla Ftp server on PC side, and activate some ftp backup from PC to NAS...

As far as I know, the default service (both server and client modes) on Windows is smb. No default ftp, rsync or others. I think that is the reason Backup Plan software utilizes samba protocol. I actually prefer RSync.
User avatar
orion
 
Posts: 1970
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 11:09 am

Re: Backup plan shows no folders during setup

Postby sksbir » Wed May 17, 2017 5:52 pm

orion wrote:
sksbir wrote:seriously ?
wow, I will never use that software if this is true : smb is far the best to do backups. I will prefer to install for example Filezilla Ftp server on PC side, and activate some ftp backup from PC to NAS...

As far as I know, the default service (both server and client modes) on Windows is smb. No default ftp, rsync or others. I think that is the reason Backup Plan software utilizes samba protocol. I actually prefer RSync.

Yep, I use it between two NAS, and it's really fast with has little bandwidth use has possible, but how did you install a rsync server ( or client, but server is better ) on windows ?
sksbir
 
Posts: 277
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2015 9:23 pm

Re: Backup plan shows no folders during setup

Postby orion » Wed May 17, 2017 6:26 pm

sksbir wrote:Yep, I use it between two NAS, and it's really fast with has little bandwidth use has possible, but how did you install a rsync server ( or client, but server is better ) on windows ?

You can try DeltaCopy (both server and client modes) which is a free software under Windows.
User avatar
orion
 
Posts: 1970
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 11:09 am

Re: Backup plan shows no folders during setup

Postby Pauhana » Thu May 18, 2017 7:48 am

Thanks folks!

I too would prefer to use rsync for backups. I've used it under unix, but didn't know what to use / how to set it up under windows. I'll definitely take a look at DeltaCopy for my purposes.
Pauhana
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2015 6:37 am

Next

Return to Backup and Data Protection

  • You cannot post new topics in this forum
    You cannot reply to topics in this forum
    You cannot edit your posts in this forum
    You cannot delete your posts in this forum
    You cannot post attachments in this forum
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests