It is currently Fri Nov 27, 2020 8:56 pm
All times are UTC + 8 hours

SWAP NAS DRIVES to NEW NAS QUESTION

Backup and data protection discussion at its finest.

SWAP NAS DRIVES to NEW NAS QUESTION

Postby botics » Wed Sep 09, 2020 10:44 pm

I am using a few Asustor NAS units and testing drives using BTFS. When I swap out the drives and place in a new NAS unit; I am being asked to initialize the unit. Does BTFS prevent me from this swapping drives or am I missing something. I have never had this issue with my EXT drives.

I am using the new Lockerstor Pro 10 Bay and Lockerstor 10 and 4 bay units all with NVME (different amounts of NVME) - I am also wondering if I need to remove the RAID read/write for NVME before I swap the drives to a new unit to boot.

I want to be able to be up and running should a unit fail and swap to another NAS.

Thank you.
botics
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2013 4:40 am

Re: SWAP NAS DRIVES to NEW NAS QUESTION

Postby orion » Thu Sep 10, 2020 10:06 am

Do you mean that you remove 4 drives plus + NVME devices from AS6604T and insert to a new AS6510T? That should work. If it does not work correctly in this condition, I think you'd better to send a support request to asustor to check it.
User avatar
orion
 
Posts: 2787
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 11:09 am

Re: SWAP NAS DRIVES to NEW NAS QUESTION

Postby botics » Fri Sep 11, 2020 6:41 am

The NVME are different sizes in the second NAS. Even with NVME disabled I am being asked to initialize the disks. Off to support I go... USA support is slow.
botics
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2013 4:40 am

Return to Backup and Data Protection

  • You cannot post new topics in this forum
    You cannot reply to topics in this forum
    You cannot edit your posts in this forum
    You cannot delete your posts in this forum
    You cannot post attachments in this forum
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest