It is currently Fri Nov 27, 2020 8:26 pm
All times are UTC + 8 hours

Full Desktop Backup :?:

Backup and data protection discussion at its finest.

Re: Full Desktop Backup :?:

Postby voxhel » Thu May 28, 2020 6:41 pm

Hi,

I'm reviving this post, because the 1st question on top:

## ERRORs##
"DriveC: (32) The process cannot access the fie because is being used by another process: [C:\windows\ServiceProfiles\LocalService\NTUSER.DAT]"
"DriveC: (32) The process cannot access the fie because is being used by another process: [C:\windows\ServiceProfiles\LocalNetworkService\NTUSER.DAT]"

This question, and due to the fact the this his happening in C: and its system files … I have accepted the explanation.

But know on a diferent Drive (D:\) so no system files there, my backup his failing on the VMware Workstation VMDKs files!

** BackupPlan.exe is running as Local Administrator. **

Image

I need the backup of the Virtual Machines to be successful, and of course the virtual machines area in use!

What his the solution?

Regards.

Hélder
AS6210T
voxhel
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2020 7:59 pm

Re: Full Desktop Backup :?:

Postby ilike2burnthing » Fri May 29, 2020 2:24 am

Can you temporarily stop VMware?
ilike2burnthing
 
Posts: 130
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2020 8:01 pm

Re: Full Desktop Backup :?:

Postby orion » Fri May 29, 2020 10:18 am

I use BusyBox now, rather than VMware. However you can try to copy the files manually under Windows (ex: copy c:\somewhere-A\vmware.log c:\somewhere-B\vmware.log). If you cannot, it means VMware adopts the same technique as Windows system (for NTUSER.DAT).
User avatar
orion
 
Posts: 2787
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 11:09 am

Re: Full Desktop Backup :?: BackupPlan Not For Backup ATTM

Postby voxhel » Fri May 29, 2020 5:39 pm

Hi,

To me it's not acceptable that a backup software cannot make a backup of files from VMware. The laptop in questions, that hosts these vms, his used on a always on cenario, much like a desktop. So no shutting down host and no shutting down the VMs!

Not being abel to make these backups to theses files, makes the "BackupPlan" software a software that, should not be used for backup.

Where can I make an Official Request for the BackupPlan software include these features, has a Asustor Owner?

Regards.

Hélder
AS6210T
voxhel
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2020 7:59 pm

Re: Full Desktop Backup :?: BackupPlan Not For Backup ATTM

Postby orion » Mon Jun 01, 2020 10:09 am

voxhel wrote:Where can I make an Official Request for the BackupPlan software include these features, has a Asustor Owner?

https://support.asustor.com/ Good luck.
User avatar
orion
 
Posts: 2787
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 11:09 am

Previous

Return to Backup and Data Protection

  • You cannot post new topics in this forum
    You cannot reply to topics in this forum
    You cannot edit your posts in this forum
    You cannot delete your posts in this forum
    You cannot post attachments in this forum
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests