It is currently Fri Jan 15, 2021 11:42 pm
All times are UTC + 8 hours

Replacing failed disk (RAID 5)

Backup and data protection discussion at its finest.

Replacing failed disk (RAID 5)

Postby jona6tc » Fri Jan 17, 2020 10:29 pm

Hi

One of my three drives has failed (or is in process of failing)

Using ASUS3104T set up in RAID 5 (fourth slot just used as a backup disk)

I've ordered a replacement (WD RED 6TB - ouch!) - same capacity as the failed one

Can someone advise me on what to I need to do to swap them out - is it simply a case of swapping them and then the system will rebuild or do I need to prepare it or run some command.

Thanks for any help you can offer

Jonathan
jona6tc
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2017 9:18 pm

Re: Replacing failed disk (RAID 5)

Postby orion » Mon Jan 20, 2020 10:08 am

Yes, simply replace the failed disk with your new disk when NAS is running. No commands needed.
User avatar
orion
 
Posts: 2850
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 11:09 am

Re: Replacing failed disk (RAID 5)

Postby jona6tc » Mon Jan 20, 2020 3:47 pm

Thanks...it didn't work...something weirdgoing on....the new disk is showing as 'Inactive' and is showing twice (ie slot 2 is listed twice with identical disks - same serial #)

Have raised a case with support
jona6tc
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2017 9:18 pm

Re: Replacing failed disk (RAID 5)

Postby orion » Tue Jan 21, 2020 9:59 am

Oops, I noticed that the slots on your NAS model are not hot-swappable. So, you should shutdown your NAS down, then replace the disk, is it? Anyway, it should not show 2 identical slots. Not sure what's the problem.
User avatar
orion
 
Posts: 2850
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 11:09 am

Return to Backup and Data Protection

  • You cannot post new topics in this forum
    You cannot reply to topics in this forum
    You cannot edit your posts in this forum
    You cannot delete your posts in this forum
    You cannot post attachments in this forum
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest