It is currently Thu Nov 26, 2020 9:40 am
All times are UTC + 8 hours

Website not accessible from "some" providers

Web hosting, MySQL, PHP and all that good stuff.

Website not accessible from "some" providers

Postby gianluigi1982 » Wed Aug 06, 2014 7:54 pm

Hi all,
I've the following scenario:

- Website on the NAS web folder
- Router Ports correctly open
- Public IP
- Virtual Hosts to correctly point to the subfolder in Web

Effects:
- From some external providers (office, mobile, ...) it works fine
- From other it doesn't access to the IP

How to fix it?
Where should be the issue?
gianluigi1982
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2014 5:10 pm

Re: Website not accessible from "some" providers

Postby clinton.hall » Thu Aug 07, 2014 5:39 am

Most probably an issue where the forwarded ports are blocked at the location you are trying to access from. I have this from work, where I can't get out on most ports and am not authorised to change the work firewall.
AS-604T
3 x ST4000DM0000 (Seagate 4TB) in Raid5
2 GB RAM expansion
AS-302T

Apps (user)
NZBGet - CouchPotato - SickBeard - Git - Python

Apps (maintainer):
NZBGet - BitTorrent Sync - Mylar - LazyLibrarian - Gamez
-Maintenance of Apps acquired from JohhnyFive since ADM2.0:
SABnzbd - CouchPotato - SickBeard - HeadPhones - Subsonic

About Me: http://fockwulf.wix.com/index
User avatar
clinton.hall
 
Posts: 839
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 7:01 pm
Location: New Zealand

Re: Website not accessible from "some" providers

Postby gianluigi1982 » Sat Aug 23, 2014 4:41 pm

clinton.hall wrote:Most probably an issue where the forwarded ports are blocked at the location you are trying to access from. I have this from work, where I can't get out on most ports and am not authorised to change the work firewall.


Many thanks clinton.hall,
unfortunately it happens from my hometown provider.
It seems to work from lots of different providers but one.
Is there a way a can set my router to avoid this issue?
Or it depends from the provider's router?
Should I have to call them to obtain anything or is it useless?

thanks
gianluigi1982
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2014 5:10 pm

Re: Website not accessible from "some" providers

Postby clinton.hall » Sat Aug 23, 2014 6:57 pm

when you say provider, you mean your ISP? If it is your ISP you can probably change some settings on their server (your user account) to disable firewall etc. Nothing to do with your router...
AS-604T
3 x ST4000DM0000 (Seagate 4TB) in Raid5
2 GB RAM expansion
AS-302T

Apps (user)
NZBGet - CouchPotato - SickBeard - Git - Python

Apps (maintainer):
NZBGet - BitTorrent Sync - Mylar - LazyLibrarian - Gamez
-Maintenance of Apps acquired from JohhnyFive since ADM2.0:
SABnzbd - CouchPotato - SickBeard - HeadPhones - Subsonic

About Me: http://fockwulf.wix.com/index
User avatar
clinton.hall
 
Posts: 839
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 7:01 pm
Location: New Zealand

Re: Website not accessible from "some" providers

Postby gianluigi1982 » Sat Aug 23, 2014 9:54 pm

thanks again.
I called my ISP but they say that it seems everything fine on their side and they can't do anything to help me.

I think I'll try changing modem to check if there's any setting I didn't notice before.
gianluigi1982
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2014 5:10 pm

Re: Website not accessible from "some" providers

Postby gianluigi1982 » Wed Sep 03, 2014 10:33 pm

Hi clinton
I discovered that some (random) ISP can't get access to my website.
If from that ISP you click my IP NUMBER, the 403 NAS page shows up.
So, I tried putting a test index.html page on the web root and it seems that going to my IP NUMBER the test page shows correctly up.

It seems that it is a virtual host problem.

Below the configuration I have on the virtual host.

Host: www.
Folder: /Web/<customname>
Protocol: HTTP
Port: 80
Stato: Enabled

Anyway, IP_NUMBER:8000 continues not working from that ISP.

Really, I don't know how to fix it
gianluigi1982
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2014 5:10 pm

Re: Website not accessible from "some" providers

Postby clinton.hall » Thu Sep 04, 2014 2:07 pm

Yeah, the issue here is that most firewalls and ISPs etc will allow port 80 (http), port 443 (https) and port 22 (ssh). But port 8000 is a "custom port" and won't be enabled by default on a lot of ISPs/firewalls.

In theory you could create a NGinx reverse proxy to connect to a specific web-page on your NAS that will redirect to the ADM interface... but this is in theory. I don't really know how to do that. I just know that an nginx server is present.
AS-604T
3 x ST4000DM0000 (Seagate 4TB) in Raid5
2 GB RAM expansion
AS-302T

Apps (user)
NZBGet - CouchPotato - SickBeard - Git - Python

Apps (maintainer):
NZBGet - BitTorrent Sync - Mylar - LazyLibrarian - Gamez
-Maintenance of Apps acquired from JohhnyFive since ADM2.0:
SABnzbd - CouchPotato - SickBeard - HeadPhones - Subsonic

About Me: http://fockwulf.wix.com/index
User avatar
clinton.hall
 
Posts: 839
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 7:01 pm
Location: New Zealand

Re: Website not accessible from "some" providers

Postby gianluigi1982 » Fri Sep 05, 2014 10:14 pm

Hi clinton
finally it works.
As far as I noticed that the virtual host service was the core of the problem and that it could be related to the port mapping from some ISP I tried the "Best informatic solution approach":
- Shut Down and Restart
for both, router/modem and NAS.

And magically...it works.
Many thanks for your advices and support.

Gianluigi
gianluigi1982
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2014 5:10 pm

Return to Web Hosting

  • You cannot post new topics in this forum
    You cannot reply to topics in this forum
    You cannot edit your posts in this forum
    You cannot delete your posts in this forum
    You cannot post attachments in this forum
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest