It is currently Thu Jan 21, 2021 12:38 am
All times are UTC + 8 hours

How to get a Tomcat app on the web (8080)?

Web hosting, MySQL, PHP and all that good stuff.

How to get a Tomcat app on the web (8080)?

Postby dondavis007 » Wed Nov 13, 2013 4:08 am

Hi,

Never used tomcat before, but it was pretty straight forward. My goal was to use it to fire MadSonic up, (http://www.madsonic.org/). MadSonic is a free and very active Sunbonic fork with extra everything.

So...

I have the 8080/madsonic-tomcat/index.view up and running in like five minutes but I can't figure out how to get it public? mydomain.asustor.com:8080/madsonic-tomcat/index.view (and everything else inkl virtual host I've tried) just don't work? It's all good on my local network but wont publish public, what and where in the config do I have to edit?

Can anyone give me a hint (tomcat for dummies :)

Thanks!

Edit:
And port an stuff are open, I have like 4 other apps running on other ports. Could it be that public port 8080 is already taken?
dondavis007
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2013 11:19 pm

Re: How to get a Tomcat app on the web (8080)?

Postby WOODY@AST » Wed Nov 13, 2013 2:37 pm

Hi dondavis007,

Please follow as below:
Settings-> Ease of Access -> EZ-Router -> Port Forwarding-> add 8080 port

I think you just forgot open port forwarding.

I hope it will help you somehow. Thanks!!! :D
Storage: AS5104T
USB Speaker: Logitech Z105
Network: BUFFALO WZR-HP-G450H & Netgear R7500
Laptop: Apple MACBOOk AIR: OS X Mountain Lion & Windows 7 64-bit Ultimate
Media Player: ASUSTOR NAS with KODI
Portable: The NEW HTC ONE & Sony Xperia Z3, iPhone 3GS & iPad
User avatar
WOODY@AST
 
Posts: 101
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2012 11:51 pm

Re: How to get a Tomcat app on the web (8080)?

Postby dondavis007 » Wed Nov 13, 2013 11:20 pm

Hi,

Thanks but all ports are correct, I even tried a manual job on the router, just in case. Tomcat works on local lan but 8080 wont connect on the public side.

Ill try to give it another port i the server.xml. The documentation says you have to use apache to publish in some cases, hopefully not with this implemantion?

Is there someone that just have been doing

1. Install Tomcat
2. Deploy app
3. Checked the ports
4. Sub.domain.com:8080/Deploed-App/index.whatever?
5. Or default site set to app and no appname after 8080

And it just works?

Thanks!
dondavis007
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2013 11:19 pm

Re: How to get a Tomcat app on the web (8080)?

Postby WOODY@AST » Thu Nov 14, 2013 11:42 am

Dear dondavis007,

I think settings is fine.
Could you kindly provide web link, let me can test it?
Or please check out side network has block 8080 port.
Thanks!! ;)
Storage: AS5104T
USB Speaker: Logitech Z105
Network: BUFFALO WZR-HP-G450H & Netgear R7500
Laptop: Apple MACBOOk AIR: OS X Mountain Lion & Windows 7 64-bit Ultimate
Media Player: ASUSTOR NAS with KODI
Portable: The NEW HTC ONE & Sony Xperia Z3, iPhone 3GS & iPad
User avatar
WOODY@AST
 
Posts: 101
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2012 11:51 pm

Re: How to get a Tomcat app on the web (8080)?

Postby dondavis007 » Thu Nov 14, 2013 9:10 pm

Hi!

Ill set it upp again. No problems with outside ports, I have a lot off different ports in use, but a scan shows nobody at home from 8008.
I havent got around and changed the port i server.xlm, Ill try that
Thanks
dondavis007
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2013 11:19 pm

Re: How to get a Tomcat app on the web (8080)?

Postby soilderco » Thu Nov 14, 2013 10:56 pm

Hi here,

Could you tell more information?? Maybe we can help you.... ;)
Storage: AS-302T
soilderco
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2013 11:01 pm

Re: How to get a Tomcat app on the web (8080)?

Postby dondavis007 » Fri Nov 15, 2013 1:46 am

Hi all,

After reinstalling Tomcat it somehow started to work, don't have a single clue, it's all the same here :) Well, Ill install madsonic.org, a tweaked and free subsonic, and try it out. If everything work like it should Ill write a small howto.

Thanks
dondavis007
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2013 11:19 pm

Re: How to get a Tomcat app on the web (8080)?

Postby WOODY@AST » Fri Nov 15, 2013 11:00 pm

Hi here,

I just try out "Subsonic" , please follow up my settings:
Step 1
Install Subsonic App from App Central
Step 2
Open ADM -> [Settings]-> [Ease of Access] -> [EZ-router] -> [Port forwarding] -> [Add] select Subsonic app port 4040
Or Open router -> [Port forwarding] -> Add port [4040]
Step3
It can work, use out side network
Image

I hope it will be helpful to you.

Cheer
Storage: AS5104T
USB Speaker: Logitech Z105
Network: BUFFALO WZR-HP-G450H & Netgear R7500
Laptop: Apple MACBOOk AIR: OS X Mountain Lion & Windows 7 64-bit Ultimate
Media Player: ASUSTOR NAS with KODI
Portable: The NEW HTC ONE & Sony Xperia Z3, iPhone 3GS & iPad
User avatar
WOODY@AST
 
Posts: 101
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2012 11:51 pm

Return to Web Hosting

  • You cannot post new topics in this forum
    You cannot reply to topics in this forum
    You cannot edit your posts in this forum
    You cannot delete your posts in this forum
    You cannot post attachments in this forum
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest