Data Crow Server install: Simple Copy- Paste?

Who doesn't love third-party apps? Get together and talk about them here.
Tuscck
youtube meble na wymiar Warszawa

Data Crow Server install: Simple Copy- Paste?

Post by Tuscck »

Data Crow is a freeware media cataloger. Since im not a developer got a question:

It looks as if the server setup is just a copy-paste action.
As is explained below in the how to from data crow.
Can this software be made working on a 602T??
Theres a linux version for the server side if im readingf correctly.

I N T R O D U C T I O N
Since Data Crow 4 it is possible to run Data Crow as an old fashioned server. By that I mean it is an application server to which clients connect. I created this feature as it was requested by many users and as it made sense. On one hand to have an alternative to copying files between Data Crow installations and on the other hand as I needed to restructure the code anyway for future development. The resulting server-client architecture is a bonus.

Why would you use this? To have one central place where your data is stored within your (home) network.

Be warned that the clients connected to a server will be slower than a standalone version of Data Crow.

D A T A C R O W S E R V E R S E T U P
Download the server distribution from http://www.datacrow.net#downloads as well as a client version (either the installer or the zipped version).

D A T A C R O W U S E R F O L D E R
If you do have an existing user folder (database, images, settings) which you would like to make available through your server you can skip this chapter.

If you want / need to start fresh you will first have to create a user folder using the client version of Data Crow. This is a simple matter of starting the client version on ‘a’ machine. I say ‘a’ machine as you can create the user folder anywhere and then migrate (copy) it to the server.