It is currently Fri Jan 22, 2021 11:50 pm
All times are UTC + 8 hours

AS4004T - Use it as switch

Looking for discussion about hardware compatibility? Look no further.

AS4004T - Use it as switch

Postby Heiko_BV » Fri Jan 24, 2020 3:42 pm

Hi everyone,

is it possible to use the 3 NIC´s as switch ?

Szenario:

I want to connect a PC with 10 gbit directly to the 10 gbit Nas-Port and use another 1 Gbit- Nas-Port to connect my network. So i save the money for a 10gbit Switch.

Thanks

Heiko
Heiko_BV
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 24, 2020 3:38 pm

Re: AS4004T - Use it as switch

Postby father.mande » Fri Jan 24, 2020 7:22 pm

Hi,
Heiko_BV wrote:Hi everyone,
is it possible to use the 3 NIC´s as switch ?
Szenario:
I want to connect a PC with 10 gbit directly to the 10 gbit Nas-Port and use another 1 Gbit- Nas-Port to connect my network. So i save the money for a 10gbit Switch.
Thanks
Heiko



Even if in Linux, lot of things are possible ... I don't think you can configure this case using the default tools provide by Asustor in A.D.M.
But if you have some expertise in Linux network admin ... some possibilities can be offered.

BUT FIRST remember that a NAS IS NOT a network switch nor a dedicated network environment ... and that some application can generate indirect problem and binding problem based on a different network approach, so need tests and control.

Basically, the tool are present :
... kernel IP forwarding (ex. if each LAN have a different sub-net), bridge tools (to support multiple LAN in the same sub-network), iptables to add (even limited) some security and control.
BUT
... ebt routing are not present (require to add yourself the kernel module require), even arp table exist mac address table for each LAN (if multiple client per LAN) to prevent parallel send when it's not necessary don't exist.

So solution exist and using a simple bridge can be a good start phase (but keep in mind that an error in network can lock your NAS (except if you have screen / keyboard and Asportal terminal) ... so always keep a door to save the situation in case of error.)

Philippe.
Last edited by father.mande on Fri Jan 24, 2020 8:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.
AS5202T /AS5002T / AS202TE / AS1002T
My Blog specific to my APKG : https://blog.father-mande.ovh/
User avatar
father.mande
 
Posts: 1069
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 2:55 am

Re: AS4004T - Use it as switch

Postby Heiko_BV » Fri Jan 24, 2020 8:31 pm

Hi Philippe,

first of all: Thank you for your answer. I will try to get a solution with linux tools.

If i fail, i have a backup idea: I will connect the 10 gig- NAS -Port with a second IP- Subnet to the new 10 gbit Nic of my pc... Pc and NAS will also remain with a second Nic in the first net. So i can reach the NAS with 2 IP´s (only from my pc) and my pc stays in the main network...

Greetings

Heiko
Heiko_BV
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 24, 2020 3:38 pm

Re: AS4004T - Use it as switch

Postby Heiko_BV » Sat Jan 25, 2020 8:47 pm

Hi again,

Backupidea is working fine. Build a Raid 0 with 3 HDD´s (3+3+2) and backup the data to another 4 TB. Speed is about 290 MB/s write an 280 MB/s read. Next step will be using SSD. But nowadays to expensive...

Thanks for help

Heiko
Heiko_BV
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 24, 2020 3:38 pm

Return to Hardware Compatibility

  • You cannot post new topics in this forum
    You cannot reply to topics in this forum
    You cannot edit your posts in this forum
    You cannot delete your posts in this forum
    You cannot post attachments in this forum
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests