It is currently Fri Nov 22, 2019 12:24 pm
All times are UTC + 8 hours

AS5304T compatible 4Gb RAM

Looking for discussion about hardware compatibility? Look no further.

Re: AS5304T compatible 4Gb RAM

Postby Caesar-NL » Sun Sep 08, 2019 8:15 am

mullen47 wrote:I know there is a limit stated of 8GB, has anyone tried more than this?


The 8GB limitation can be found in the Intel processor specifications. So you can be quite sure this is the actual limitation.

You can use one 8GB module instead of two 4GB modules. However, using dual channel is better for performance.
Caesar-NL
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2019 9:01 pm

Re: AS5304T compatible 4Gb RAM

Postby Nazar78 » Wed Sep 11, 2019 12:16 am

Caesar-NL wrote:
mullen47 wrote:I know there is a limit stated of 8GB, has anyone tried more than this?


The 8GB limitation can be found in the Intel processor specifications. So you can be quite sure this is the actual limitation.

You can use one 8GB module instead of two 4GB modules. However, using dual channel is better for performance.


Yeah, saw the intel specs indicating both mem and video each max 8GB support but surprisingly 16GB works, refer attached. There's another person who also confirmed this using kingston though I'm using crucial 2400 17cl (which is slightly faster than 2666 19cl).
Attachments
screenshot.png
AS5304T 16GB DDR4
screenshot.png (41.9 KiB) Viewed 295 times
AS5304T - 16GB DDR4 - 40TB N300 RAID10 - 5 Bay JBOD
Nazar78
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2019 10:21 pm

Re: AS5304T compatible 4Gb RAM

Postby Caesar-NL » Thu Sep 19, 2019 6:57 am

Interesting.

In the past I have seen similar things. A notebook that was suppose to support 2 GB max, turned out to be able to support 8 GB. Macs that were suppose to suppor 4 GB max, were able to support 6 GB, but not 8 GB.

Now you have to ask yourself if installing 16 GB is useful. I went from 2 GB to 8 GB, and most likely that is a bit overdone. Installing 16 GB would be very much over the top. It will not do any harm I suppose, but I don't think it will be of much use either.
Caesar-NL
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2019 9:01 pm

Re: AS5304T compatible 4Gb RAM

Postby Nazar78 » Tue Sep 24, 2019 10:59 pm

Yes it's up to one's needs, anyway value ram modules are cheap nowadays. On top of the installable apps, I'm running quite a few custom fastcgi apps and currently using about 70% of the 16GB on the NAS with swap off. I'm really glad for this as it's rather painful on my previous NAS which kept trashing the swap frequently.
AS5304T - 16GB DDR4 - 40TB N300 RAID10 - 5 Bay JBOD
Nazar78
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2019 10:21 pm

Re: AS5304T compatible 4Gb RAM

Postby MadPup » Wed Oct 02, 2019 11:58 pm

I believe the module that Asustor sells is a rebranded Samsung M471A5244BB0-CRC. I got a used one off ebay for about US$15 and it's working great. You can compare the module layout and the chip numbers to the picture on the Asustor website and you'll see they are identical.
Image

Image
MadPup
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2019 11:50 pm

Re: AS5304T compatible 4Gb RAM

Postby jc333 » Fri Oct 25, 2019 4:55 am

mullen47 wrote:I know there is a limit stated of 8GB, has anyone tried more than this?


I tried a couple of these 8gb sticks just to see - and they work perfectly.


Crucial CT2K8G4SFS824A 16 GB Kit (8 GB x2) (DDR4, 2400 MT/s, PC4-19200, Single Rank x8, SODIMM, 260-Pin) Memory
jc333
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 25, 2019 4:48 am

Previous

Return to Hardware Compatibility

  • You cannot post new topics in this forum
    You cannot reply to topics in this forum
    You cannot edit your posts in this forum
    You cannot delete your posts in this forum
    You cannot post attachments in this forum
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests