It is currently Wed Aug 12, 2020 5:00 pm
All times are UTC + 8 hours

AS5202T with 16GB ram

Looking for discussion about hardware compatibility? Look no further.

AS5202T with 16GB ram

Postby jlongo » Tue Jan 14, 2020 10:01 pm

Yes, it works...

After some tries with different ram modules i found one that works with this NAS.
It have two of them now and working.

IMG_20200114_135736.jpg
IMG_20200114_135736.jpg (147.44 KiB) Viewed 1025 times


2020-01-14_1345.png
2020-01-14_1345.png (48.52 KiB) Viewed 1025 times


JL
jlongo
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2020 9:49 pm

Re: AS5202T with 16GB ram

Postby father.mande » Wed Jan 15, 2020 12:25 am

Hi,

Good information ...

Lot of Celeron Jxxx accept 16 GB of memory, even Intel support only 8 GB (it's more for a segmentation of the market, and wafer test result ... because same CPU exist with a different name and number)
Celeron Jxxx are also the result of wafer rejected from test ... when CPU is created, so can have (or not) the capabilities as accepted wafer

Jxxx seem to be more sensitive to addressing large memory controllers than "normal" series ... so in lot of case you can use 16 GB but after tests ... and better stress (to be sure), some tools exist (using a chroot) or in Entware APKG (stress program ... ATTENTION to use value coherent with your system ex. stress memory (vm) can stress swap if you exceed some value ... so using dry-run before real is a good idea ... )

I have 2 NAS with J1800 and J1900 that run with 16 GB (Kingston)

Thanks for the experience return.
Philippe.
AS5002T / AS202TE / AS1002T
My Blog specific to my APKG : https://blog.father-mande.ovh/
User avatar
father.mande
 
Posts: 1006
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 2:55 am

Re: AS5202T with 16GB ram

Postby Nazar78 » Thu Jan 16, 2020 8:23 pm

Yeah having 16GB in this Nimbustor NAS is really useful. I have it running LXC modded with Ubuntu Eoan Desktop loaded with few games from Steam and was surprised I could play CS:GO rather quite smoothly in FHD medium settings. A 4K 100mbps HEVC 10bit playback in VLC is also very smooth. With Chrome few tabs opened in background and the CS:GO game running, it's already using about 9GB 70% of the RAM (had swap turned off on boot). That's including few apps from the Asustor app central (PMS, Radarr, Sonarr, Jackett, Bazarr) and few of my custom FCGI Debian chroot apps running in background.
AS5304T - 16GB DDR4 - [40TB N300 RAID10 + 5 Bay USB: 8TB RAID5 & 480GB SSD for Apps]
Nazar78
 
Posts: 106
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2019 10:21 pm

Re: AS5202T with 16GB ram

Postby botics » Sat Jun 13, 2020 8:59 am

Is this confirmed that it will utilize all 16gigs?
botics
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2013 4:40 am

Re: AS5202T with 16GB ram

Postby botics » Tue Jun 16, 2020 4:22 am

Thank you for the quick response. I am going to order them.
botics
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2013 4:40 am

Re: AS5202T with 16GB ram

Postby roemhildtg » Fri Jun 26, 2020 9:17 pm

Hi - I just installed 2 4GB ram modules from Crucial:

Product SKU: CT4G4SFS632A
Product Name: 4GB DDR4-3200 UDIMM 1.2V CL22

I cannot get 8GB of RAM to show up in the interface though, however, I can place each one in the main slot (closest to the chipset) and the system boots with 4GB. Any tips to getting the second stick of RAM to show up?
roemhildtg
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2020 9:11 pm

Re: AS5202T with 16GB ram

Postby Nazar78 » Sat Jun 27, 2020 2:25 am

roemhildtg wrote:Hi - I just installed 2 4GB ram modules from Crucial:

Product SKU: CT4G4SFS632A
Product Name: 4GB DDR4-3200 UDIMM 1.2V CL22

I cannot get 8GB of RAM to show up in the interface though, however, I can place each one in the main slot (closest to the chipset) and the system boots with 4GB. Any tips to getting the second stick of RAM to show up?


Probably 3200 @ CL22 (13.75ns) is too much to boot with two modules on this board? On other system maybe you can relax the memory timings a bit but not with this board as I don't recall seeing any memory settings. Think you should be getting a DDR4-2400 @ CL17 (14.16ns) instead as that's the supported spec for J4105 or probably (not tested) the slightly lower 2666 @ CL19 (14.25ns).
AS5304T - 16GB DDR4 - [40TB N300 RAID10 + 5 Bay USB: 8TB RAID5 & 480GB SSD for Apps]
Nazar78
 
Posts: 106
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2019 10:21 pm

Return to Hardware Compatibility

  • You cannot post new topics in this forum
    You cannot reply to topics in this forum
    You cannot edit your posts in this forum
    You cannot delete your posts in this forum
    You cannot post attachments in this forum
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest