It is currently Tue Mar 09, 2021 4:09 pm
All times are UTC + 8 hours

HTTPS help!

Got a question about our NAS utilities? The answer lies within.

HTTPS help!

Postby Limp88 » Thu Jun 01, 2017 4:27 am

Hi!

I want to use https on my Nas but i cant get it to work can some one help me?
Maby some one can give me a little guide or something so i can get it to work :D
Limp88
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 09, 2017 4:09 am

Re: HTTPS help!

Postby ecollin2 » Thu Jun 01, 2017 5:14 am

ecollin2
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri May 06, 2016 5:32 am

Re: HTTPS help!

Postby TangoViktor » Sat Jun 10, 2017 5:01 am

Same issue here...

I would liek to enable the https security feature but I do not have a domain name registered. If I understand the guid provided in the link above it is required to have a registered domain name in order to henable the https security feature enabled even if I only want to use the NAS for personal cloud services.

Thanks for any comments.

Kind regards

Tango
TangoViktor
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jun 10, 2017 4:49 am

Re: HTTPS help!

Postby Ford Henly » Thu Jun 29, 2017 4:01 pm

for which domain are you trying the https for security purpose?
Ford Henly
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2017 9:23 pm

Re: HTTPS help!

Postby orion » Thu Jun 29, 2017 7:24 pm

If you don't own a domain, you can have only 2 choices: default certificate (on ADM) or self-signed certificate. If your browser is up-to-date, I think both ways are secure enough.
EDIT: It seems that all of NASes apply the same private key (default certificate). I though it's different, but not. So it's better to apply self-signed certificate.
User avatar
orion
 
Posts: 2946
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 11:09 am

Re: HTTPS help!

Postby spikey1973 » Wed Aug 23, 2017 11:40 pm

Hello guys,

I'm having the same issue as the fella's above..
no registered domain, just want the access to my nas to run secure!

so following the supplied link there is the two options.. or get default certificate (from ADM) with the error message within chrome everytime (rather annoying)
or go via letsencrypt.com, but in step 7 from the link explaining there is still the request for a domain name which i don't have.

so how can i make sure i connect to my NAS secure WITHOUT a registered domain.

i believe this is an issue a lot of people have issues with, so an explenation on how to prefered a step by step, without the request for a registered domain name would be much appreciated by me, and future requesters.

Kind regards

ps: i tried to use the domain name of my freedns, but this didn't work.

Matt
spikey1973
 
Posts: 66
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2017 4:11 am

Return to NAS Utilities

  • You cannot post new topics in this forum
    You cannot reply to topics in this forum
    You cannot edit your posts in this forum
    You cannot delete your posts in this forum
    You cannot post attachments in this forum
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest