It is currently Sun Aug 18, 2019 11:16 am
All times are UTC + 8 hours

Speed up RAID Rebuild?

Got a question about our NAS utilities? The answer lies within.

Speed up RAID Rebuild?

Postby basketballmail2 » Wed Apr 30, 2014 3:35 pm

Hi guys

Is there a way to speed up the Rebuild of a failed RAID? It seems to me that the NAS puts a very low priority on rebuilding as it is telling me it will take about 3 Days to rebuild my 4 TB RAID 1. Is there a way to tell the NAS to speed it up? I get that it doesn't need to be fast when you build a new RAID but when you are recovering from a failed drive you do rather want your raid back up and running quick and not wait 3 days.

Thanks

Cedric
AS-606T: 3x WD 4.0TB RED RAID 5
User avatar
basketballmail2
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Dec 29, 2013 11:03 pm

Re: Speed up RAID Rebuild?

Postby orion » Wed Apr 30, 2014 5:26 pm

You can try to increase the value /proc/sys/dev/raid/speed_limit_min which sets the minimum speed in KB / sec. Oh, you can use ssh to change the value by:
Code: Select all
cat /proc/sys/dev/raid/speed_limit_min
echo 120000 > /proc/sys/dev/raid/speed_limit_min

And it's better to make sure speed_limit_max value is higher than speed_limit_min. :)
User avatar
orion
 
Posts: 2295
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 11:09 am

Re: Speed up RAID Rebuild?

Postby basketballmail2 » Wed Apr 30, 2014 5:33 pm

Sweet thanks I'll give that a try as soon as I'm home from work! I see I really got to learn more linux to get the most out of my NAS experience ;)
AS-606T: 3x WD 4.0TB RED RAID 5
User avatar
basketballmail2
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Dec 29, 2013 11:03 pm

Re: Speed up RAID Rebuild?

Postby basketballmail2 » Wed Apr 30, 2014 10:42 pm

Wow, what a speed increase :) Thanks! what if I put the max and min up even more than the 120000 do I risk crippling something or will I just eventually reach the max speed of the drive and that is it?
AS-606T: 3x WD 4.0TB RED RAID 5
User avatar
basketballmail2
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Dec 29, 2013 11:03 pm

Re: Speed up RAID Rebuild?

Postby orion » Fri May 02, 2014 10:46 am

That should reach the max speed of your drive (depends on your HDD type). It will utilize more CPU power and memory. That should be fine. Maybe, impact to the response speed of UI.
User avatar
orion
 
Posts: 2295
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 11:09 am

Return to NAS Utilities

  • You cannot post new topics in this forum
    You cannot reply to topics in this forum
    You cannot edit your posts in this forum
    You cannot delete your posts in this forum
    You cannot post attachments in this forum
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests