It is currently Wed Aug 04, 2021 9:44 pm
All times are UTC + 8 hours

Mysterious Volume snapshot

Got a question about our NAS utilities? The answer lies within.

Mysterious Volume snapshot

Postby iheresss » Tue Jul 13, 2021 11:05 pm

Hi there,

I just updated my AS5304T to ADM 3.5.7.RJ92 and decided to run defragment right after. I noticed that after the defragment I suddenly use more storage and I found there is a 777GB snapshot appears on Snapshot Center even though I have never create any snapshot nor have any schedule running. This is totally weird and unexpected behavior.

If anyone here has answer how to remove this snapshot please share, thanks!

Image
iheresss
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2021 10:53 pm

Re: Mysterious Volume snapshot

Postby orion » Wed Jul 14, 2021 10:40 am

Based on my limited memory (cannot make sure of it), I saw this kind of info before. It seems that it should be revised after you press refresh icon.
User avatar
orion
 
Posts: 3122
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 11:09 am

Re: Mysterious Volume snapshot

Postby iheresss » Wed Jul 14, 2021 12:22 pm

orion wrote:Based on my limited memory (cannot make sure of it), I saw this kind of info before. It seems that it should be revised after you press refresh icon.


I've tried refreshing it many times already but it's still there. I also tried to SSH and run some btrfs cmd to see where this snapshot came from but don't see anything out of ordinary.
iheresss
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2021 10:53 pm

Re: Mysterious Volume snapshot

Postby orion » Wed Jul 14, 2021 3:02 pm

Sounds weird. Can you post the output of the following commands (note: you should replace "volume2" as the volume name in your case)?
Code: Select all
btrfs quota enable /volume2
btrfs qgroup show /volume2
btrfs subvolume list /volume2
btrfs quota disable /volume2
User avatar
orion
 
Posts: 3122
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 11:09 am

Re: Mysterious Volume snapshot

Postby iheresss » Mon Jul 19, 2021 11:06 pm

orion wrote:Sounds weird. Can you post the output of the following commands (note: you should replace "volume2" as the volume name in your case)?
Code: Select all
btrfs quota enable /volume2
btrfs qgroup show /volume2
btrfs subvolume list /volume2
btrfs quota disable /volume2


Image

Here's the result. Look like a lot of docker image here. It's only 2.8GB in size though, far too small for 7-800GB I'm seeing in Snapshot Center.

After some digging in Portainer I found there is a snapshot function configured to run every 5 mins. Now I reconfig it to be 82400 hours instead.
iheresss
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2021 10:53 pm

Return to NAS Utilities

  • You cannot post new topics in this forum
    You cannot reply to topics in this forum
    You cannot edit your posts in this forum
    You cannot delete your posts in this forum
    You cannot post attachments in this forum
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests