It is currently Thu Jan 21, 2021 11:05 am
All times are UTC + 8 hours

AS202TE Linux Version and file format

Interested in our products? Please post any inquiries here.

AS202TE Linux Version and file format

Postby Mellontes » Tue Jan 17, 2017 10:49 am

Hi,
In early December of 2016, I updated the ADM to its recent version (whatever that is). Sis weeks later I sold the AS202TE and took out my two HDDs without copying the data (it was a quick sale and I was SOOOO busy - anyway, just an excuse).

My problem now, as you no doubt have already figured out, is how do I get my data back. I have a Windows 8.1 Pro desktop (recently acquired after the sale of the AS202TE). I am hoping there is some way to retrieve the data off of those HDDs in that Windows machine.

But to do this, don't I need to know what version of Linux was previously used and the file format the data is presently in?

So, if someone knows the answer to this question, it would be GREATLY appreciated. Please don't get too technical though...I am new at this stuff.

Thanks!
Mellontes
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2016 3:22 am

Re: AS202TE Linux Version and file format

Postby orion » Tue Jan 17, 2017 11:15 am

That's more easy if you use Linux PC to recover your data. The format is basically ext4 file system with md on top of it (depends on what RAID format you choose). I have no ideas about how to recover data on Windows system.
User avatar
orion
 
Posts: 2862
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 11:09 am

Re: AS202TE Linux Version and file format

Postby MikeG.6.5 » Tue Jan 17, 2017 12:04 pm

You can install an ext4 driver in Windows and might be able to get to the drives that way, but if they are in a raid, and you don't have them hooked up right, you might not see your data.

I honestly don't know if you can use an external enclosure to put the drives into a USB bus and access them or not. But this would be where I would start. Get a 2-bay or however large you need for the drives, and then attach that to the Windows machine.

But, honestly, I would contact Asustor though a ticket (Need the serial number from the NAS to do it.) at http://support.asustor.com.

Short of buying another Asustor NAS I'm not sure what other steps you can do. (You can take any drives initialized on any model of Asustor NAS and plug them into another model and get to the data.)
MikeG.6.5
 
Posts: 911
Joined: Fri May 15, 2015 1:56 am

Re: AS202TE Linux Version and file format

Postby Mellontes » Thu Jan 19, 2017 5:24 am

Things just got worse. My SSD with Windows just got corrupted. So, I now have Ubuntu installed but still can't read the drives. It SEEMS that the derives are reporting in at 267 Mb each which, of course, isn't even remotely close to the 3.5 Tb of data stored on two WD 3.0 Tb drives. No RAID configuration - just JBOD.

First day with Ubuntu as well :(

Can't seem to locate any disk management apps to run...

Fairly lost...
Mellontes
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2016 3:22 am

Re: AS202TE Linux Version and file format

Postby SPOinNS » Thu Jan 19, 2017 7:42 am

I don't know if it's common knowledge but the AS-20XX series uses a 32 bit version of ADM. Asustor don't hide the fact but they don't publicize it either. It might be relevant to your recovery efforts.
SPOinNS
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2015 1:10 pm

Re: AS202TE Linux Version and file format

Postby orion » Thu Jan 19, 2017 10:11 am

Mellontes wrote:Things just got worse. My SSD with Windows just got corrupted. So, I now have Ubuntu installed but still can't read the drives. It SEEMS that the derives are reporting in at 267 Mb each which, of course, isn't even remotely close to the 3.5 Tb of data stored on two WD 3.0 Tb drives. No RAID configuration - just JBOD.

First day with Ubuntu as well :(

Can't seem to locate any disk management apps to run...

Fairly lost...

I think you can study "mdadm --assemble", "gdisk" and "mount" commands under Ubuntu. You should be able to recover your data back.
User avatar
orion
 
Posts: 2862
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 11:09 am

Re: AS202TE Linux Version and file format

Postby Mellontes » Fri Jan 20, 2017 2:44 pm

Problem is solved. Managed to mount the right drives and saved to external storage.

Thanks for all suggestions!
Mellontes
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2016 3:22 am

Return to Presales

  • You cannot post new topics in this forum
    You cannot reply to topics in this forum
    You cannot edit your posts in this forum
    You cannot delete your posts in this forum
    You cannot post attachments in this forum
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests