It is currently Tue May 18, 2021 8:41 am
All times are UTC + 8 hours

AS6510T maximum ram / 32GB modules (ecc)

Interested in our products? Please post any inquiries here.

AS6510T maximum ram / 32GB modules (ecc)

Postby c3t3HSJS » Sun Apr 11, 2021 9:44 pm

Hi!

What is the maximum amount of ram of the AS6510T.

I think I had read somewhere that 2x16GB Ram modules = 32 Total are supported.

But the store lists 32GB Modules,
https://shop.asustor.com/index.php?rout ... ath=18_112

so would this work, would it only support 1 module = 32GB total or would 2x32GB=64GB (ECC) also work?
is there any performance benefit of using two modules of the same size?
c3t3HSJS
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2021 12:15 am

Re: AS6510T maximum ram / 32GB modules (ecc)

Postby orion » Mon Apr 12, 2021 10:13 am

Apparently, yes, it supports 64GB (two 32GB). The spec states the same: https://www.asustor.com/en-gb/product/spec?p_id=64
And I believe the memory bandwidth should be double when you plug 2 SODIMM. However you will not notice the differences. The memory bandwidth is much higher than IO devices (HDD, SSD, M.2, 10GbE...), even it's single SODIMM.
User avatar
orion
 
Posts: 3044
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 11:09 am

Re: AS6510T maximum ram / 32GB modules (ecc)

Postby c3t3HSJS » Tue Apr 13, 2021 9:05 am

thank you.
c3t3HSJS
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2021 12:15 am

Re: AS6510T maximum ram / 32GB modules (ecc)

Postby c3t3HSJS » Wed Apr 21, 2021 4:30 am

Sadly I can not find the original AS-32GECD4, / 92M11-S32ECD40 32GB ECC memory module in my country.

Also the compatibility list
https://www.asustor.com/service/memory? ... type_id=40
Does not show any ECC memory for the AS65 series and not even any 3rd party >16GB modules for it.
(though anyhow prefer ECC)

It would be handy if some more specific memory requirements would be listed.
Like I tried to compile what it should be and this looks like a close match,
should this work:

Kingston KSM26SED8/32ME
32GB 2Rx8 4G x 72-Bit PC4-2666 CL19 260-Pin ECC SODIMM
https://www.kingston.com/dataSheets/KSM26SED8_32ME.pdf

or any other suggestions or better what to look for?
c3t3HSJS
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2021 12:15 am

Re: AS6510T maximum ram / 32GB modules (ecc)

Postby orion » Wed Apr 21, 2021 10:31 am

You may send this ECC model to asustor to ask them to add it into compatibility list. However I believe it will take certain mount of time even if they can proceed the verification.
User avatar
orion
 
Posts: 3044
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 11:09 am

Re: AS6510T maximum ram / 32GB modules (ecc)

Postby c3t3HSJS » Wed Apr 21, 2021 5:44 pm

Is Asustor not reading this forum?

From how I see it there are no 32GB modules in the list, only 16gb and no ECC modules at all.
I do not have any share in Kingston, I do not necessary need to get this specific module certified, I just want to know what are the specs needed
for a memory module to fit and sure it would be helpful if the memory list gets updated to show modules which are more available as their own
and also to the full supported capacity and feature set, like the 32GB ECC I am looking for.
c3t3HSJS
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2021 12:15 am

Re: AS6510T maximum ram / 32GB modules (ecc)

Postby orion » Thu Apr 22, 2021 10:11 am

It's more efficient for you to get responses if you send a request to asustor directly. I actually asked them to manage the requests from this forum long time ago. However they said that it's hard to manage requests here without a management software system. It's easy to miss some requests among many requests here. They managed requests over their support system. I actually agreed with this point.

They only put those tested devices into compatibility list. It means the devices not in the list might / might not work.
User avatar
orion
 
Posts: 3044
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 11:09 am

Re: AS6510T maximum ram / 32GB modules (ecc)

Postby c3t3HSJS » Sat May 01, 2021 9:59 pm

I find it should be present in the documentation, which it is not.
then I find such questions better answered in a forum as this directly shares the info
with multiple users, and I guess I am not the only one wondering about a memory upgrade.

Btw, I tested the module mentioned above and it does not work.

As said, if knowing the exact requirements it would be easier to rule out modules
which should not work in general.
c3t3HSJS
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2021 12:15 am

Return to Presales

  • You cannot post new topics in this forum
    You cannot reply to topics in this forum
    You cannot edit your posts in this forum
    You cannot delete your posts in this forum
    You cannot post attachments in this forum
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests