Page 2 of 2

Re: virtualbox, gdrive, optware, squid, bind9

PostPosted: Sat Mar 22, 2014 1:40 am
by igracgq
I'm on 192.168.1.1 so I definitively have to put that into squid.conf

I left the proxy settings to default, which would be port 3128 and forwarded the ports accordingly on my router

Re: virtualbox, gdrive, optware, squid, bind9

PostPosted: Sat Mar 22, 2014 2:07 am
by MrK
igracgq wrote:I'm on 192.168.1.1 so I definitively have to put that into squid.conf

I left the proxy settings to default, which would be port 3128 and forwarded the ports accordingly on my router

No no, 192.168.1.1. is already part of 192.168.0.0/16. Mmmh, so I'm clueless at the moment since the internet says that it should have to do with a subnet.

Oh, and why would you have to forward the ports (plutral?) on your router?

And could you have a look at the log of Squid in /usr/local/AppCentral/squid/var/log/ (I think). I post a few lines of it?

Re: virtualbox, gdrive, optware, squid, bind9

PostPosted: Sun Mar 23, 2014 4:56 pm
by MrK
@igracgq:
Oh, and why would you have to forward the ports (plutral?) on your router?

And could you have a look at the log of Squid in /usr/local/AppCentral/squid/var/log/access.log. And post a few lines of it of the denied site?
What OS und browser do you use btw?

Re: virtualbox, gdrive, optware, squid, bind9

PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2014 10:39 pm
by codinandhaulin
MrK wrote:Hey,

I created a package for Squid 3.4.4 for ASUSTOR. Maybe someone could give it a go? Works fine for me but I don't use Squid daily.

Squid 3.4.4 for ASUSTOR AS-20xT/AS-20xTE & AS-30xT
Squid 3.4.4 for ASUSTOR AS-60xT

The cache manager interface (<NAS IP>/squid) has got no password set.
After some feedback or 2 weeks I'll submit to the app store.

cu
Thomas


I set up my brand new AS-604T last night and installed your Squid package this morning. My LAN is 192.168.0.xxx, and the package worked out of the box. This is one of the reasons I bought the Asustor! Thank you so very much for your efforts!

I'm going to turn on the disk cache, and do some extensive testing tonight.

I encourage you to submit to the app store. Great work!

Edit: I got ahead of myself... I can't figure out how to run 'squid -z' from the terminal to have squid build the disk cache folder structure. Can anybody help a newbie?

Re: virtualbox, gdrive, optware, squid, bind9

PostPosted: Thu Apr 03, 2014 2:29 am
by MrK
codinandhaulin wrote:[...]Edit: I got ahead of myself... I can't figure out how to run 'squid -z' from the terminal to have squid build the disk cache folder structure. Can anybody help a newbie?

squid -z is run by the start script itself (/usr/local/AppCentral/squid/CONTROL/start-stop.sh, line 50 to 53). So it shouldn't be necessary to run it yourself.

Having said that I just realized that I did not enable the "cache_dir" directive in squid.conf, which is of course wrong. I'll creating another package and upload it.

You can manually run squid -z as following:
1) stop squid :
Code: Select all
/usr/local/AppCentral/squid/CONTROL/start-stop.sh stop
... that will take a minute or two.

2) run squid -z :
Code: Select all
su -c "/usr/local/AppCentral/squid/sbin/squid -z" - admin
That will only actually do something if you uncomment the line 64, "cache_dir ufs /usr/local/AppCentral/squid/var/cache/squid 100 16 256". The cache will be created in /usr/local/AppCentral/squid/var/cache/squid unless you change the location in squid.conf.
If you let the start-stop.sh script create the cache a file named ".initialized" is created. If that file exists then "squid -z" won't run at start-up. So you could delete /usr/local/AppCentral/squid/var/cache/squid/.initialized and the start-stop.sh script will run 'squid -z' again.

3) start squid again :
Code: Select all
/usr/local/AppCentral/squid/CONTROL/start-stop.sh start


Hope that helps,
Thomas

Re: virtualbox, gdrive, optware, squid, bind9

PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2014 1:04 am
by codinandhaulin
Having said that I just realized that I did not enable the "cache_dir" directive in squid.conf, which is of course wrong. I'll creating another package and upload it.


Thanks for the update. How can I get your updated .APK (AS-604T)? Thanks again for the help!

Re: virtualbox, gdrive, optware, squid, bind9

PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2014 6:10 am
by MrK
codinandhaulin wrote:
Having said that I just realized that I did not enable the "cache_dir" directive in squid.conf, which is of course wrong. I'll creating another package and upload it.


Thanks for the update. How can I get your updated .APK (AS-604T)? Thanks again for the help!

It's on it's way to AppCentral - waiting to be approved by ASUSTOR.

Re: virtualbox, gdrive, optware, squid, bind9

PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2014 8:57 am
by codinandhaulin
Thanks again - I keep checking AppCentral!

Re: virtualbox, gdrive, optware, squid, bind9

PostPosted: Fri Mar 27, 2020 2:54 pm
by Achileus
Please could anyone update squid package and do squidguard pkg ? Thank you