It is currently Wed Jun 16, 2021 8:55 am
All times are UTC + 8 hours

Creating access to Volume1

Portainer is a lightweight management UI which allows you to easily manage your Docker host or Swarm cluster.

Creating access to Volume1

Postby mechxico » Tue Aug 13, 2019 3:18 am

I read through the documentation for pulling images and deployment, but I cannot find a way to give containers access to the ASUSTOR storage on Volume1.
I have tried creating a new volume. The only available volume that shows up for a container is "portainer local"

Has anyone had success installing sonarr, radarr or a torrent client on portainer?
mechxico
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Aug 13, 2019 2:54 am

Re: Creating access to Volume1

Postby Alex000TOR » Wed Mar 18, 2020 11:23 pm

Hey there,

I am just starting to mess around with Portainer.io myself, did you ever get a response to this question?

Cheers,

Alex
Alex000TOR
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2020 11:16 pm

Re: Creating access to Volume1

Postby Nazar78 » Sat Mar 21, 2020 6:00 am

Portainer is just a management UI, so you need to familiarize with docker itself. "Volume" is a separate persistent shared space allocated in docker. Think you're looking at binding the host paths to container mount points. See example below...

Has anyone had success installing sonarr, radarr or a torrent client on portainer?


Example for sonarr:

1. In portainer, pull the image or with docker:
Code: Select all
docker pull linuxserver/sonarr:latest


2. In portainer, create a new container for sonarr with the proper binds or with docker:
Code: Select all
docker create -i -t --name=Sonarr \
        --network host \
        -e PUID=999 -e PGID=999 \
        -v /etc/localtime:/etc/localtime:ro \
        -v /share:/share:rw \
        -v /tmp:/tmp:rw \
        -v /volume1/Docker/Sonarr/config:/config:rw \
        -v /dev/null:/tv:ro \
        -v /dev/null:/downloads:ro \
        -v /dev/null:/videos:ro \
        --restart always \
        linuxserver/sonarr:latest


You can use /volume1/* or /share/* which is a loop bind whichever you prefer. Those /dev/nulls are just default placeholders for the image. This is my setup so all docker apps are pointing to the same /share/Video, /share/Download, /share/Music etc. I also have all docker apps running at 1/4 of CPU usage and lowest IO/nice priority.

3. In portainer, start the container or with docker:
Code: Select all
docker start Sonarr


You can skip this if #2 is using run instead of create.
AS5304T - 16GB DDR4 - [40TB N300 RAID10 + 5 Bay USB: 8TB RAID5 & 480GB SSD for Apps]
User avatar
Nazar78
 
Posts: 294
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2019 10:21 pm
Location: Singapore

Re: Creating access to Volume1

Postby silentjay » Mon May 18, 2020 12:22 pm

would you be willing to show me how to edit this so it has access to my users folder ie /Home/jason

docker run -d \
--name=filebot \
-p 5800:5800 \
-v /docker/appdata/filebot:/config:rw \
-v $HOME:/storage:rw \
jlesage/filebot

iver tried replacing where it says storage with /home/jason but i get nothing. the webui will not access any local folders that i have content in

tia
silentjay
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2020 9:36 am

Re: Creating access to Volume1

Postby Nazar78 » Mon May 18, 2020 10:50 pm

silentjay wrote:would you be willing to show me how to edit this so it has access to my users folder ie /Home/jason

docker run -d \
--name=filebot \
-p 5800:5800 \
-v /docker/appdata/filebot:/config:rw \
-v $HOME:/storage:rw \
jlesage/filebot

iver tried replacing where it says storage with /home/jason but i get nothing. the webui will not access any local folders that i have content in

tia


1. Is your $HOME set to /home/jason ? Try run: echo $HOME. I see you posted both /home and /Home remember it's case sensitive. Also check its permission. Or instead of using $HOME, set the actual path i.e. "-v /home/jason:/storage:rw \" (I'm aware you already did this but just double check).

2. Related to the $HOME variable, check that the docker correctly register the storage mount under HostConfig->Binds, run: docker inspect filebot.

3. Did you click "Load" then "/" or "../" on filebot webui? If yes you should be able to see the rootfs including /storage and its contents binded to /home/jason.

Here's my working config from scratch:

Code: Select all
docker stop filebot;

docker rm -f filebot;

docker pull jlesage/filebot:latest;

docker create -i -t --name=filebot \
   --network host \
   -e PUID=999 -e PGID=999 \
   -v /etc/localtime:/etc/localtime:ro \
   -v /share:/storage:rw \
   -v /tmp:/tmp:rw \
   -v /share/Docker/filebot/config:/config:rw \
   --cpus 1 \
   --restart always \
   jlesage/filebot:latest;

docker start filebot;
AS5304T - 16GB DDR4 - [40TB N300 RAID10 + 5 Bay USB: 8TB RAID5 & 480GB SSD for Apps]
User avatar
Nazar78
 
Posts: 294
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2019 10:21 pm
Location: Singapore

Re: Creating access to Volume1

Postby silentjay » Tue May 19, 2020 6:17 am

I guess I didn't realize to replace $HOME with the home directory /share. Ill try that.
silentjay
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2020 9:36 am

Return to Portainer

  • You cannot post new topics in this forum
    You cannot reply to topics in this forum
    You cannot edit your posts in this forum
    You cannot delete your posts in this forum
    You cannot post attachments in this forum
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest