Creating access to Volume1

Portainer is a lightweight management UI which allows you to easily manage your Docker host or Swarm cluster.

Moderator: Lillian.W@AST

Post Reply
mechxico
Posts: 1
youtube meble na wymiar Warszawa
Joined: Tue Aug 13, 2019 2:54 am

Creating access to Volume1

Post by mechxico »

I read through the documentation for pulling images and deployment, but I cannot find a way to give containers access to the ASUSTOR storage on Volume1.
I have tried creating a new volume. The only available volume that shows up for a container is "portainer local"

Has anyone had success installing sonarr, radarr or a torrent client on portainer?
Alex000TOR
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2020 11:16 pm

Re: Creating access to Volume1

Post by Alex000TOR »

Hey there,

I am just starting to mess around with Portainer.io myself, did you ever get a response to this question?

Cheers,

Alex
User avatar
Nazar78
Posts: 2067
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2019 10:21 pm
Location: Singapore
Contact:

Re: Creating access to Volume1

Post by Nazar78 »

Portainer is just a management UI, so you need to familiarize with docker itself. "Volume" is a separate persistent shared space allocated in docker. Think you're looking at binding the host paths to container mount points. See example below...
Has anyone had success installing sonarr, radarr or a torrent client on portainer?
Example for sonarr:

1. In portainer, pull the image or with docker:

Code: Select all

docker pull linuxserver/sonarr:latest
2. In portainer, create a new container for sonarr with the proper binds or with docker:

Code: Select all

docker create -i -t --name=Sonarr \
        --network host \
        -e PUID=999 -e PGID=999 \
        -v /etc/localtime:/etc/localtime:ro \
        -v /share:/share:rw \
        -v /tmp:/tmp:rw \
        -v /volume1/Docker/Sonarr/config:/config:rw \
        -v /dev/null:/tv:ro \
        -v /dev/null:/downloads:ro \
        -v /dev/null:/videos:ro \
        --restart always \
        linuxserver/sonarr:latest
You can use /volume1/* or /share/* which is a loop bind whichever you prefer. Those /dev/nulls are just default placeholders for the image. This is my setup so all docker apps are pointing to the same /share/Video, /share/Download, /share/Music etc. I also have all docker apps running at 1/4 of CPU usage and lowest IO/nice priority.

3. In portainer, start the container or with docker:

Code: Select all

docker start Sonarr
You can skip this if #2 is using run instead of create.
AS5304T - 16GB DDR4 - ADM-OS modded on 2GB RAM
Internal:
- 4x10TB Toshiba RAID10 Ext4-Journal=Off
External 5 Bay USB3:
- 4x2TB Seagate modded RAID0 Btrfs-Compression
- 480GB Intel SSD for modded dm-cache (initramfs auto update patch) and Apps

When posting, consider checking the box "Notify me when a reply is posted" to get faster response
silentjay
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2020 9:36 am

Re: Creating access to Volume1

Post by silentjay »

would you be willing to show me how to edit this so it has access to my users folder ie /Home/jason

docker run -d \
--name=filebot \
-p 5800:5800 \
-v /docker/appdata/filebot:/config:rw \
-v $HOME:/storage:rw \
jlesage/filebot

iver tried replacing where it says storage with /home/jason but i get nothing. the webui will not access any local folders that i have content in

tia
User avatar
Nazar78
Posts: 2067
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2019 10:21 pm
Location: Singapore
Contact:

Re: Creating access to Volume1

Post by Nazar78 »

silentjay wrote:would you be willing to show me how to edit this so it has access to my users folder ie /Home/jason

docker run -d \
--name=filebot \
-p 5800:5800 \
-v /docker/appdata/filebot:/config:rw \
-v $HOME:/storage:rw \
jlesage/filebot

iver tried replacing where it says storage with /home/jason but i get nothing. the webui will not access any local folders that i have content in

tia
1. Is your $HOME set to /home/jason ? Try run: echo $HOME. I see you posted both /home and /Home remember it's case sensitive. Also check its permission. Or instead of using $HOME, set the actual path i.e. "-v /home/jason:/storage:rw \" (I'm aware you already did this but just double check).

2. Related to the $HOME variable, check that the docker correctly register the storage mount under HostConfig->Binds, run: docker inspect filebot.

3. Did you click "Load" then "/" or "../" on filebot webui? If yes you should be able to see the rootfs including /storage and its contents binded to /home/jason.

Here's my working config from scratch:

Code: Select all

docker stop filebot;

docker rm -f filebot;

docker pull jlesage/filebot:latest;

docker create -i -t --name=filebot \
	--network host \
	-e PUID=999 -e PGID=999 \
	-v /etc/localtime:/etc/localtime:ro \
	-v /share:/storage:rw \
	-v /tmp:/tmp:rw \
	-v /share/Docker/filebot/config:/config:rw \
	--cpus 1 \
	--restart always \
	jlesage/filebot:latest;

docker start filebot;
AS5304T - 16GB DDR4 - ADM-OS modded on 2GB RAM
Internal:
- 4x10TB Toshiba RAID10 Ext4-Journal=Off
External 5 Bay USB3:
- 4x2TB Seagate modded RAID0 Btrfs-Compression
- 480GB Intel SSD for modded dm-cache (initramfs auto update patch) and Apps

When posting, consider checking the box "Notify me when a reply is posted" to get faster response
silentjay
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2020 9:36 am

Re: Creating access to Volume1

Post by silentjay »

I guess I didn't realize to replace $HOME with the home directory /share. Ill try that.
Post Reply

Return to “Portainer”