It is currently Sun Oct 25, 2020 7:56 am
All times are UTC + 8 hours

6404T Excessive HD activity?

6404T Excessive HD activity?

Postby Project86 » Mon Aug 03, 2020 3:39 am

I own and love the 6404T but am noticing something that seems a bit off to me. Lately I feel the drives are constantly "working" for lack of a better word. I hear them doing what sounds like a lot of work, as in sustained transfers or scans or something. Not just a little blip here and there, but pretty continuous.

Checking ADM, I see little to no network activity. But the drives themselves (3x 8TB WD Red drives in RAID5) each show 500-800KB/sec data movement. I've disabled Roon, Kodi, Google Drive, and everything else I can think of which might have some sort of background scan taking place. So I just can't figure out why the drives are so active. I don't believe the system will sleep with all this happening so it is working my drives more than they need to be worked.

I'm on the latest firmware and again, generally quite pleased with the 6404T, but I'd love some input into this.
Project86
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Feb 17, 2014 12:23 am

Re: 6404T Excessive HD activity?

Postby orion » Mon Aug 03, 2020 10:17 am

If you did not start other tasks, there should be certain background tasks (for example, create photo thumbnails). Normally those tasks should cease operations after a period.

You can use ADM web -> Settings -> Hardware -> Diagnostic tool to find out which processes are working. To use the tool, you'll start it and close ADM web page. Then wait for the task to gather information (duration is showed within that tool). After that, go to that page and check result.
User avatar
orion
 
Posts: 2754
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 11:09 am

Re: 6404T Excessive HD activity?

Postby Project86 » Sat Aug 08, 2020 3:07 am

Thanks, I have used that tool on my older Asustor NAS to figure out why it wasn't properly going to sleep. Will check it out on this unit and see if I can find what is causing the activity. I understand there are certain background scans/metadata/etc that might need to happen but it just feels like the thing is always going. Maybe I just happen to always be there when it does its thing though.
Project86
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Feb 17, 2014 12:23 am

Return to [Official] For AS63XX/64XX Series

  • You cannot post new topics in this forum
    You cannot reply to topics in this forum
    You cannot edit your posts in this forum
    You cannot delete your posts in this forum
    You cannot post attachments in this forum
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron