Homebridge on Asustor over Docker?

Docker containers wrap a piece of software in a complete filesystem that contains everything needed to run: code, runtime, system tools, system libraries – anything that can be installed on a server. This guarantees that the software will always run the same, regardless of its environment.

Moderator: Lillian.W@AST

Post Reply
slemy
Posts: 1
youtube meble na wymiar Warszawa
Joined: Sat Aug 05, 2017 5:46 pm

Homebridge on Asustor over Docker?

Post by slemy »

Hello ,
How can I run Homebridge on Asustor over Docker?
Find no manual how to use Docker on Asustor or how to configure it.

Here an example how it works on synology
h**p://jensbouma.nl/blog/homebridge-in-a-docker-container-on-the-synology-diskstation-guide/
BasPost
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2016 3:39 pm

Re: Homebridge on Asustor over Docker?

Post by BasPost »

Digging up an old topic, but I would like to know also!
Jagstyles

Re: Homebridge on Asustor over Docker?

Post by Jagstyles »

Add me to the list of those interested. Anyone find a way to accomplish this? I have Docker installed on my Asustor NAS.
User avatar
Nazar78
Posts: 2002
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2019 10:21 pm
Location: Singapore
Contact:

Re: Homebridge on Asustor over Docker?

Post by Nazar78 »

Run:

Code: Select all

docker pull oznu/homebridge
Then run:

Code: Select all

docker run \
  --net=host \
  --name=homebridge \
  -e PUID=<UID> -e PGID=<GID> \
  -e TZ=<timezone> \
  -e HOMEBRIDGE_CONFIG_UI=1 \
  -e HOMEBRIDGE_CONFIG_UI_PORT=8080 \
  -v </path/to/config>:/homebridge \
  oznu/homebridge
Substitute:
<UID> and <GID> with 999 (admin,administrators).

<timezone> with your TZ i.e. curl https://ipapi.co/timezone

</path/to/config> with /share/Docker/homebridge

See here for more details https://hub.docker.com/r/oznu/homebridge/

Access should be via: http://your_nas_ip:8080
AS5304T - 16GB DDR4 - ADM-OS modded on 2GB RAM
Internal:
- 4x10TB Toshiba RAID10 Ext4-Journal=Off
External 5 Bay USB3:
- 4x2TB Seagate modded RAID0 Btrfs-Compression
- 480GB Intel SSD for modded dm-cache (initramfs auto update patch) and Apps

When posting, consider checking the box "Notify me when a reply is posted" to get faster response
Jagstyles

Re: Homebridge on Asustor over Docker?

Post by Jagstyles »

Nazar78 wrote:Run:

Code: Select all

docker pull oznu/homebridge
Then run:

Code: Select all

docker run \
  --net=host \
  --name=homebridge \
  -e PUID=<UID> -e PGID=<GID> \
  -e TZ=<timezone> \
  -e HOMEBRIDGE_CONFIG_UI=1 \
  -e HOMEBRIDGE_CONFIG_UI_PORT=8080 \
  -v </path/to/config>:/homebridge \
  oznu/homebridge
Substitute:
<UID> and <GID> with 999 (admin,administrators).

<timezone> with your TZ i.e. curl https://ipapi.co/timezone

</path/to/config> with /share/Docker/homebridge

See here for more details https://hub.docker.com/r/oznu/homebridge/

Access should be via: http://your_nas_ip:8080
This is great. Got it installed but then after changing the admin password on Homebridge to something stronger besides "admin", I could no longer get that URL to work. Tried rebooting the NAS but still not able to access it. Not sure if it's a coincidence? Also, does the NAS' admin user account need to remain enabled for this to work?

Lastly, do I need to insert a command line somewhere on the NAS so that it loads up the docker each time I boot up the NAS or is this done anyways since I have Docker App enabled?
Post Reply

Return to “Docker”