Docker concept questions - docker database and backup related questions hosted on NAS

Docker containers wrap a piece of software in a complete filesystem that contains everything needed to run: code, runtime, system tools, system libraries – anything that can be installed on a server. This guarantees that the software will always run the same, regardless of its environment.

Moderator: Lillian.W@AST

krunchynug8
youtube meble na wymiar Warszawa

Docker concept questions - docker database and backup related questions hosted on NAS

Post by krunchynug8 »

Hi folks I am new to docker. There is a few questions that I have on my mind. If anyone can answer anyone of these please reply.
Background - I am running docker on an Asustor NAS - Nimbustor 2 with Portainer.
I want to run the following apps for example - Bitwarden - with Mariadb/MySQL, Wordpress - with phPMYAdmin - with MySQL, Bookstack with MySQL and Calibre web (I think this does not need a database? not sure)
Since most of these apps use database hence my database question

Question 1: Can I use an external database? Is it safe to use the host database? Database is on the host. I cannot get the container to access the host database.
Question 2: If I use a container Database (Mariadb container) can all of these 4 apps access this one container to store their data? Or do I require 4 containers running Mariadb one for each app?
Question 3: Is it possible to backup containers? How do I backup a database if it is in a container? Does the database store its data inside files? I am a noob when it comes to databases.
Question 4: Is it possible to administer a database using phPMYAdmin if it is running in a container?
Question 5: I will be using Bind volumes to store the data from these apps to a docker folder in my NAS under their respective directories. If I update a container or loose a container is all of my data safe in the NAS? Is it better to use docker volumes are they persistent? What is an NFS volume?