Page 1 of 1

Sonarr 2.0.0.5338 (docker version) not allowing to see /volume1 root folder

Posted: Fri Aug 14, 2020 3:13 am
by dkobelak
So I was running the old version of sonarr (pre docker) and just installed the newer version which runs under docker. I restored my config from previous sonarr app and only issue I am having now is that I get a message that my old root folders (volume1/Media) are missing. If i got into add new root folder, I am unable to see /volume1 or many other folders I have under that directory. I assume it has something to do with docker. Any idea how I can make this accessible so I can point to all my media? right now sonarr only lists these folders as accessible /downloads, /video, /config, /tv. I would like to be able to access /volume1 where all my data is

Re: Sonarr 2.0.0.5338 (docker version) not allowing to see /volume1 root folder

Posted: Fri Aug 14, 2020 1:39 pm
by Nazar78
Just bind the host path you want to appear in the container. Two ways to do this, first method is by editing the two container json files (config.v2.json/hostconfig.json) which you'll need to stop the container first then restart the main docker daemon after editing. This is not recommended unless you're very familiar with what you're about to do. Second method, just stop then remove the existing container, recreate it with the the bind you desire. I assumed you installed from the guide in docker hub since you were asking about Sonarr V3 recently?

Stop then remove existing Sonarr container "docker stop sonarr;docker rm sonarr", use "docker ps -a" if you can't remember the name or run below:

Code: Select all

SONARR=$(docker ps -a|grep -i sonarr|awk '{print $NF}') && docker stop $SONARR && docker rm -f $SONARR
Recreate the container with the bind you wanted (this is the original container created by Patrick on Asustor app central with added Media bind sample, edit as you wish):

Code: Select all

docker create -i -t --name=Sonarr \
	-p 18989:8989 \
	-e PUID=999 -e PGID=999 \
	-v /etc/localtime:/etc/localtime:ro \
	-v /volume1/Docker/Sonarr/config:/config:rw \
	-v /volume1/Docker/Sonarr/tv:/tv:rw \
	-v /volume1/Download:/downloads:rw \
	-v /volume1/Video:/videos:rw \
	-v /volume1/Media:/media:rw \
	--restart unless-stopped \
	linuxserver/sonarr:latest
Start it up:

Code: Select all

docker start Sonarr

Re: Sonarr 2.0.0.5338 (docker version) not allowing to see /volume1 root folder

Posted: Sat Aug 15, 2020 2:58 am
by dkobelak
Nazar78 wrote:Just bind the host path you want to appear in the container. Two ways to do this, first method is by editing the two container json files (config.v2.json/hostconfig.json) which you'll need to stop the container first then restart the main docker daemon after editing. This is not recommended unless you're very familiar with what you're about to do. Second method, just stop then remove the existing container, recreate it with the the bind you desire. I assumed you installed from the guide in docker hub since you were asking about Sonarr V3 recently?

Stop then remove existing Sonarr container "docker stop sonarr;docker rm sonarr", use "docker ps -a" if you can't remember the name or run below:

Code: Select all

SONARR=$(docker ps -a|grep -i sonarr|awk '{print $NF}') && docker stop $SONARR && docker rm -f $SONARR
Recreate the container with the bind you wanted (this is the original container created by Patrick on Asustor app central with added Media bind sample, edit as you wish):

Code: Select all

docker create -i -t --name=Sonarr \
	-p 18989:8989 \
	-e PUID=999 -e PGID=999 \
	-v /etc/localtime:/etc/localtime:ro \
	-v /volume1/Docker/Sonarr/config:/config:rw \
	-v /volume1/Docker/Sonarr/tv:/tv:rw \
	-v /volume1/Download:/downloads:rw \
	-v /volume1/Video:/videos:rw \
	-v /volume1/Media:/media:rw \
	--restart unless-stopped \
	linuxserver/sonarr:latest
Start it up:

Code: Select all

docker start Sonarr
great info. thank you.. I actually ended up using Portainer app and edited the sonarr container binds. I appreciate the help!

Re: Sonarr 2.0.0.5338 (docker version) not allowing to see /volume1 root folder

Posted: Mon Nov 30, 2020 12:45 pm
by Stik
can you please show how you did this with portainer. I am new to this whole "Docker" thing and am trying to get my head around it.

UPDATE: Got it sorted using remote path mappings within the app