It is currently Wed Dec 12, 2018 12:10 am
All times are UTC + 8 hours

Why were AC3, eAC3, trueHD, and DTS removed?

FFmpeg library

Why were AC3, eAC3, trueHD, and DTS removed?

Postby wyoung » Sat Mar 31, 2018 3:58 pm

Just got an update notification for FFMpeg with the following changelog:

Version 3.3.2.r13
- Remove AC3, eAC3, trueHD, DTS codec playback support.


Why were these codecs removed?

Seems like things are just going backwards for Asustor.
AS-304T
4 X 4TB Western Digital Red in Raid 5
XBMC
wyoung
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2014 8:53 pm

Re: Why were AC3, eAC3, trueHD, and DTS removed?

Postby mafredri » Sat Mar 31, 2018 7:38 pm

It seems asustor is trying to avoid paying royalties for supporting these codecs on ADM. Same reason they are removing Kodi.

I’m not even sure if they are going to be accepting 3rd party submissions to App Central or not. Probably not. So that leaves the only option to download 3rd part APKs or a 3rd party App Store for these features.

On the one hand I understand their choice, but it’s a pretty big *middle finger* to any user who bought their NAS for these features :(.
Hi, I'm new here. Looking to be active in the community and help with development :).
Storage: AS-604T with 3GB RAM (Kingston KVR1333D3S8S9/2G)
User avatar
mafredri
 
Posts: 371
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2014 8:41 am

Re: Why were AC3, eAC3, trueHD, and DTS removed?

Postby borelioza » Sun Apr 01, 2018 4:23 pm

And how solve this?
borelioza
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2017 9:10 pm

Re: Why were AC3, eAC3, trueHD, and DTS removed?

Postby MikeG.6.5 » Mon Apr 02, 2018 3:24 am

borelioza wrote:And how solve this?


convert all of your audio tracks to AAC Stereo?

I do this by default, anyway, as it has a higher compatibility with other devices.
MikeG.6.5
 
Posts: 910
Joined: Fri May 15, 2015 1:56 am

Re: Why were AC3, eAC3, trueHD, and DTS removed?

Postby jorge6880 » Wed Apr 04, 2018 4:58 pm

Does anyone for Asustor make any comment for this? I don´'t even have the option of keeping "0010_999_1504679933_ffmpeg_3.3.2.r11_x86-64.apk"
other Asustor apps are demanding the update.
I'm pretty annoyed...
jorge6880
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2018 4:31 am

Re: Why were AC3, eAC3, trueHD, and DTS removed?

Postby samavi » Thu Apr 12, 2018 4:13 pm

it's a total scandal
samavi
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2017 11:50 pm

Re: Why were AC3, eAC3, trueHD, and DTS removed?

Postby helo1976 » Thu Apr 12, 2018 7:47 pm

Can we just not update ffmpeg?
helo1976
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Aug 25, 2017 3:21 pm

Re: Why were AC3, eAC3, trueHD, and DTS removed?

Postby MonsMagnus » Thu Apr 12, 2018 10:25 pm

jorge6880 wrote:Does anyone for Asustor make any comment for this? I don´'t even have the option of keeping "0010_999_1504679933_ffmpeg_3.3.2.r11_x86-64.apk"
other Asustor apps are demanding the update.
I'm pretty annoyed...

What would you have them say? If they tell you any sort of work around for this then they become legally liable and could be sued for damages by the license holders for the codecs they are not wanting to pay royalties for. So don't hold your breath for any sort of meaningful Asustor response. I admit, some sort of statement explaining that the associated costs of supporting these codecs have made it impossible for them to stay competitive in this market and as such they made the decision to stop supporting them. I also wonder if they could offer some sort of premium tier that would allow the users who need them to purchase an "upgrade" to provide this compatibility.
MonsMagnus
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2017 2:17 am

Re: Why were AC3, eAC3, trueHD, and DTS removed?

Postby docmarc » Wed Jun 27, 2018 10:46 pm

solution to use ac3 video in KOdi

ADM APP
ADD UPNP1 and configure video directory files

In KODI add UPNP source

system > media settings >> manage sources >> videos >>ADD sources >> Browse >>UPNP devices > and choose ASxxxx your Upnp sources

to view AC3 video choose ASxxxxx
docmarc
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2016 2:10 am

Re: Why were AC3, eAC3, trueHD, and DTS removed?

Postby jorge6880 » Wed Jul 18, 2018 6:03 pm

Could you be mor specific?

ADM App where, asustor portal?


docmarc wrote:solution to use ac3 video in KOdi

ADM APP
ADD UPNP1 and configure video directory files

In KODI add UPNP source

system > media settings >> manage sources >> videos >>ADD sources >> Browse >>UPNP devices > and choose ASxxxx your Upnp sources

to view AC3 video choose ASxxxxx
jorge6880
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2018 4:31 am

Next

Return to FFmpeg

  • You cannot post new topics in this forum
    You cannot reply to topics in this forum
    You cannot edit your posts in this forum
    You cannot delete your posts in this forum
    You cannot post attachments in this forum
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest