It is currently Tue Aug 21, 2018 4:27 pm
All times are UTC + 8 hours

Teamspeak 3 App Update

TeamSpeak 3 continues the legacy of the original TeamSpeak communication system previously offered in TeamSpeak Classic (1.5) and TeamSpeak 2. TeamSpeak 3 is not merely an extension of its predecessors but rather a complete rewrite in C++ of its proprietary protocol and core technology.

Teamspeak 3 App Update

Postby fritzboxuser » Thu Apr 12, 2018 12:34 am

hey community,

someone here that can update the teamspeak3 app in asustor appstore?
fritzboxuser
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2015 6:40 pm

Re: Teamspeak 3 App Update

Postby MadMe86 » Sun Jun 10, 2018 7:43 am

I updated the TS3 Server for me... and it runs just fine...
I contacted the Maintainer if he still wants to maintain the App.
If he doesnt react or won't maintain the App anymore, i will connect Teamspeak to figure out if i can publish an App with their Software...
i don't want to have letters from lawyers... :-/
When everything is fine i will update the app...

In between:
At the moment i dont have the time to write an detailed HowTo.

roughly: (only for advanced Users on LINUX!!)
dont forget to make an backup.
You need an ssh connection to your NAS.
Download the actual Server to your public Folder and extract it
The Data of the TS3 Server lies here:
/volume1/.@plugins/AppCentral/teamspeak/
change your directory to that location and copy the extracted files over the old Server files (under bin/teamspeak3-server_linux-amd64).
you need to rename ts3server_linux_amd64 to ts3server and to edit ts3server_startscript.sh
there is a line like
ps -p ${PID} > /dev/null 2>&1
that wont work with the ps on the NAS
my solution:
ps | grep ${PID} | grep -v grep > /dev/null 2>&1

and you need to accept the ts3 license.
1. read it
2. change in /volume1/.@plugins/AppCentral/teamspeak/CONTROL/start-stop.sh
the line
DAEMON_OPTS=" start"
to
DAEMON_OPTS=" start license_accepted=1"

After you started it the firtst time, and got administrator rights you need to copy it back to the from the public folder to /volume1/.@plugins/AppCentral/teamspeak/bin/teamspeak3-server_linux-amd64
If you dont do that you get on every restart a brand new server...
That should do the trick...
I didnt wrote the commands to do that stuff. If you dont know how to do that on a Linux mashine you shoudn't do that...

Greetings MadMe
MadMe86
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2018 7:01 am

Re: Teamspeak 3 App Update

Postby fritzboxuser » Mon Jun 11, 2018 5:48 pm

thank you,

it works with overcopy the old files and reconfig the start.sh but this is not a *comfort option*, i think most users here dont use ssh conncection to thier nas

so i really really hope ts3 team response positiv to the app^^


edit: i allready try to contact maintainer4 months ago, multiple mails, no responce from clintonhall
fritzboxuser
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2015 6:40 pm

Re: Teamspeak 3 App Update

Postby PaullShull » Wed Jun 13, 2018 10:20 pm

MadMe86 wrote:I updated the TS3 Server for me... and it runs just fine...
I contacted the Maintainer if he still wants to maintain the App.
If he doesnt react or won't maintain the App anymore, i will connect Teamspeak to figure out if i can publish an App with their Software...
i don't want to have letters from lawyers... :-/
When everything is fine i will update the app...

In between:
At the moment i dont have the time to write an detailed HowTo.

roughly: (only for advanced Users on LINUX!!)
dont forget to make an backup.
You need an ssh connection to your NAS.
Download the actual Server to your public Folder and extract it
The Data of the TS3 Server lies here:
/volume1/.@plugins/AppCentral/teamspeak/
change your directory to that location and copy the extracted files over the old Server files (under bin/teamspeak3-server_linux-amd64).
you need to rename ts3server_linux_amd64 to ts3server and to edit ts3server_startscript.sh
there is a line like
ps -p ${PID} > /dev/null 2>&1
that wont work with the ps on the NAS
my solution:
ps | grep ${PID} | grep -v grep > /dev/null 2>&1

and you need to accept the ts3 license.
1. read it
2. change in /volume1/.@plugins/AppCentral/teamspeak/CONTROL/start-stop.sh
the line
DAEMON_OPTS=" start"
to
DAEMON_OPTS=" start license_accepted=1"

After you started it the firtst time, and got administrator rights you need to copy it back to the from the public folder to /volume1/.@plugins/AppCentral/teamspeak/bin/teamspeak3-server_linux-amd64
If you dont do that you get on every restart a brand new server...
That should do the trick...
I didnt wrote the commands to do that stuff. If you dont know how to do that on a Linux mashine you shoudn't do that...

Greetings MadMe



Thx man :)
Asustor AS3102T
ADM v.3.1.0.RFQ3
PaullShull
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2018 5:17 pm

Re: Teamspeak 3 App Update

Postby clinton.hall » Thu Jun 21, 2018 7:50 pm

Hi All,

Can you please test these?
https://www.dropbox.com/s/0wr1ezxummvmkl9/teamspeak_20180621_i386.apk?dl=0 for 32bit
https://www.dropbox.com/s/j6dhe63oezs4kc8/teamspeak_20180621_x86-64.apk?dl=0 for 64 bit

This uses your method of replacing the PS commands (I use a sed command in the apps start-stop script).
This also now copies the binaries into the Public share at install... so you can simply download the latest version from Teamspeak website, dump the new files into the /volume1/Public/teamspeak/teamspeak3-server/ and then the start-stop script should take care of the rest.

I hope this helps.
AS-604T
3 x ST4000DM0000 (Seagate 4TB) in Raid5
2 GB RAM expansion
AS-302T

Apps (user)
NZBGet - CouchPotato - SickBeard - Git - Python

Apps (maintainer):
NZBGet - BitTorrent Sync - Mylar - LazyLibrarian - Gamez
-Maintenance of Apps acquired from JohhnyFive since ADM2.0:
SABnzbd - CouchPotato - SickBeard - HeadPhones - Subsonic

About Me: http://fockwulf.wix.com/index
User avatar
clinton.hall
 
Posts: 826
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 7:01 pm
Location: New Zealand

Re: Teamspeak 3 App Update

Postby fritzboxuser » Fri Jun 22, 2018 8:40 pm

i can confirm that the updated apk for teamspeak3 in version x64 is working
fritzboxuser
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2015 6:40 pm

Re: Teamspeak 3 App Update

Postby MadMe86 » Thu Jul 05, 2018 4:41 am

Hi!

nice usage of sed ( i still need to read me into that tool)
and im glad to hear from you, so i don't need to spare some of my little time to read me into ADM ;)
MadMe86
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2018 7:01 am

Re: Teamspeak 3 App Update

Postby clinton.hall » Fri Jul 13, 2018 5:59 am

@MadMe86

Certainly never hurts to read into ADM (not too bad once you get your head around it).

Personally the biggest issue with "my" Apps is that these were either inherited from a previous dev, or built upon request, and MANY of my Apps are not ones that I use.
So I don't always understand what is needed, or why, and I don't usually notice if they stop working (add in that I can go for months without checking forums or emails as I get caught up with moving country etc...)

So, by all means, any improvements are welcomed, and if you really wanted to take certain Apps over, I am usually not likely to complain. the main issue is when people take over Apps and then disappear and the Apps become abandoned.

sed itself is a fun tool... I hadn't used for a while. I had to look at usage examples online and then do a few tests to make sure it replaced as wanted.... but yes, it is a reasonably efficient way of doing renames, or replacing variable names etc "in-place". There are probably a whole stack of devs out there who would be able to provide 50 alternative (and more efficient??) methods of achieving the same... but hey, I do this as a hobby and never claim to be the best :)
AS-604T
3 x ST4000DM0000 (Seagate 4TB) in Raid5
2 GB RAM expansion
AS-302T

Apps (user)
NZBGet - CouchPotato - SickBeard - Git - Python

Apps (maintainer):
NZBGet - BitTorrent Sync - Mylar - LazyLibrarian - Gamez
-Maintenance of Apps acquired from JohhnyFive since ADM2.0:
SABnzbd - CouchPotato - SickBeard - HeadPhones - Subsonic

About Me: http://fockwulf.wix.com/index
User avatar
clinton.hall
 
Posts: 826
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 7:01 pm
Location: New Zealand

Re: Teamspeak 3 App Update

Postby foffe77 » Sun Jul 22, 2018 2:55 pm

Wondering if I should update Teamspeak to 3.2.0 through app central.

Will all my settings and configuration in my TS Server remain? Does the 3.2.0 version works well for you?
foffe77
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Sep 08, 2017 2:58 am

Re: Teamspeak 3 App Update

Postby MadMe86 » Wed Jul 25, 2018 5:09 am

@clinton.hall
To understand how ADM works is not that hard (i think). After i unpacked your app i needed ~one hour to figure out how it works... But i didnt tested the Build tools...
But of course when you don't use the app yourself it is hard to get it maintained.

I'm still waiting for a real reply from teamspeak. When they give the permission i could take teamspeak over if you want. (in law questions i'm a little bit paranoid ;) Some bigger Companies are just not very nice if it touches in any way intellectual property See Nintendo for example...)

@foffe77
3.2.0 works well for me... but at the moment i can't update it with clintons version. I made some crazy changes like let it run from the RAM instead of the HDD.
Maybe on the weekend i will have time to check it out.

Greetings MadMe
MadMe86
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2018 7:01 am

Next

Return to Teamspeak

  • You cannot post new topics in this forum
    You cannot reply to topics in this forum
    You cannot edit your posts in this forum
    You cannot delete your posts in this forum
    You cannot post attachments in this forum
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest