It is currently Mon Apr 12, 2021 11:31 pm
All times are UTC + 8 hours

AS6102T + AS6004U + AS-U2.5G2 - Network Problems

AS6102T + AS6004U + AS-U2.5G2 - Network Problems

Postby dsarlis » Wed Feb 17, 2021 1:23 am

All,

So I recently added the AS-U2.5G2 to my AS6102T + AS6004U setup, as part of going to 10Gig in my home LAN.

I've gone with a static IP address scheme, and everything works IP-wise, as follows:

EXTLAN1
IPv4 Address - 192.168.1.4
Subnet Mask - 255.255.255.0
Gateway - 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers - just using Google for now - 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.6.6

The new AS-U2.5G2 comes up fine and auto-negotiates 2.5G bi-directional with the Mikrotik CRS305 with a 10Gig SFP+. No problem.
The AS6102T is comes up fine on my LAN - I can ping it, everything is reachable, UPnP works fine and all my files are reachable.
On the same Mikrotik CRS305 switch, I also have an iMac connected via a 10Gig SFP+ fiber link, and it sees the internet no problem, and both the AS6102T and the CRS305 are both in the same switch instance.

Problems - there are three....
1. DNS - the AS6102T doesn't see DNS servers at all - therefore no automated ADM updates or remote access
2. Because I am now on 2.5Gig, I wanted to change the MTU size to 9000, and it won't take it, and gives me the message "The default gateway is not on the same network segment (subnet) defined by the IP address and subnet mask. (Ref. 5302)" - which you can see my IP info for EXTLAN1 above - nothing wrong with my IP addressing scheme!
3. I try to change the EXTLAN1 network interface to obtain it's IP address via DHCP, and I get the same message as my problem 2 - "The default gateway is not on the same network segment (subnet) defined by the IP address and subnet mask. (Ref. 5302)". So now, the NAS doesn't support DHCP to get it's IP address.

So, I am basically stuck with an AS6102T + AS6004U +AS-U2.5G2 that works only part of the way....any ideas? Is it some weird USB 3.0 bandwidth sharing issue? USB 3.0 supports 5Gbps, and the there 3 of these on the AS6102T, but maybe the buss all three are on isn't 3x5Gbps, but something less and it's causing issues? Or is it a bug in ADM?

Apologies for the length - any thoughts?

Dennis
dsarlis
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2021 12:53 am

Re: AS6102T + AS6004U + AS-U2.5G2 - Network Problems

Postby orion » Wed Feb 17, 2021 11:15 am

Sounds weird. I'm not the same environment with yours. I think you should send a support request to asustor. https://support.asustor.com/
User avatar
orion
 
Posts: 2986
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 11:09 am

Re: AS6102T + AS6004U + AS-U2.5G2 - Network Problems

Postby dsarlis » Wed Feb 17, 2021 11:44 pm

Orion - thanks for the feedback! I will do that......honestly my next step was to SSH into it's console and start poking around to see what is ACTUALLY going on, and not what the ADM web-GUI is telling me. I suspect that based on how things are working, ADM is NOT registering a Gateway IP address as the GUI is telling me.

Anyways - I will continue troubleshooting.....

Dennis
dsarlis
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2021 12:53 am

Re: AS6102T + AS6004U + AS-U2.5G2 - Network Problems

Postby dsarlis » Fri Feb 26, 2021 6:51 am

So I raised a ticket and looks like yes, there are bugs. The team went in and took a look, and will probably be addressed in next ADM release.

So basically, in order to get full network connectivity, I have all the ethernet ports connected - 2x1Gig onboard ports (have them in LACP mode) and the 1x2.5Gig AS-U2.5G2. Nothing too bad - I have the spare 1Gig and 10Gig ethernet ports in my LAN at home. It's just that my NAS has 2 IP addresses - I can transfer files back and forth over the 2.5Gig no problem, and the 2x1Gig LACP ports actually see my gateway and DNS's. On it's own, the 2.5Gig AS-U2.5G2 port cannot.

One thing to note - I was told to NOT use jumbo frames, and to stick with an MTU of 1500 on my NAS. So - not optimal, but still way better than just the 2x1Gig LACP ports. 10Gig is ultimately where I am going to transition my home network, but, since Asustor doesn't have a "smaller" NAS with SFP+ ports, I'll probably go with either an ixSystems or one of the ZFS QNAP's.

Dennis
dsarlis
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2021 12:53 am

Return to [Official] For AS61XX/62XX Series

  • You cannot post new topics in this forum
    You cannot reply to topics in this forum
    You cannot edit your posts in this forum
    You cannot delete your posts in this forum
    You cannot post attachments in this forum
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest