Page 1 of 1

Restart Apache2 - How?

PostPosted: Thu Feb 04, 2016 4:22 am
by Falken
Hi, second post in a short period of time..

I have made a couple of changes in the Apache config files, one being a theoretical fix for the Poodle-issue.

But, for the changes to take effect the server will have to be restarted. A complete NAS-restart did not do the trick.

Thanks!

Re: Restart Apache2 - How?

PostPosted: Thu Feb 04, 2016 10:20 am
by orion
You may try to disable web server, then re-enable it again. (under ADM web -> Services -> Web Server).

Re: Restart Apache2 - How?

PostPosted: Thu Feb 04, 2016 2:59 pm
by Falken
orion wrote:You may try to disable web server, then re-enable it again. (under ADM web -> Services -> Web Server).


Hi and thanks for the reply.

It was a good idea, but with no luck sadly. Im guessing a support-ticket is in place due to the fact this is a old security issue that I notices was not patched the other day. If I would have been able to restart the Apache-server, everything would be good after just a little "-SSLv3" modification in a config file..

Well well..

Re: Restart Apache2 - How?

PostPosted: Wed Feb 17, 2016 7:28 am
by nemezzz
Falken wrote:Hi, second post in a short period of time..

I have made a couple of changes in the Apache config files, one being a theoretical fix for the Poodle-issue.

But, for the changes to take effect the server will have to be restarted. A complete NAS-restart did not do the trick.

Thanks!


with help of SSH:

sh /volume0/usr/builtin/etc/init.d/S54apache2 restart

or

/volume0/usr/builtin/sbin/apache2 -k restart

Re: Restart Apache2 - How?

PostPosted: Thu Feb 18, 2016 5:21 am
by Falken
nemezzz wrote:
Falken wrote:Hi, second post in a short period of time..

I have made a couple of changes in the Apache config files, one being a theoretical fix for the Poodle-issue.

But, for the changes to take effect the server will have to be restarted. A complete NAS-restart did not do the trick.

Thanks!


with help of SSH:

sh /volume0/usr/builtin/etc/init.d/S54apache2 restart

or

/volume0/usr/builtin/sbin/apache2 -k restart


This is Great! I am currently away from home, so I will have to try these commands when I come home. But, it looks promising!
Thank you very much for your help!

Re: Restart Apache2 - How?

PostPosted: Thu Feb 18, 2016 5:35 am
by MikeG.6.5
If you can open a port on your router for SSH you could do this remotely. By default SSH uses port 22, but I would advise you to change the port forwarding to something above 1000 and below 65000.

For example, you COULD forward port 35000 to internal IP of your NAS to port 22, then you could be fairly sure no one will likely hack into the machine, and you still have remote access to it via SSH.

Re: Restart Apache2 - How?

PostPosted: Sat Feb 20, 2016 3:47 am
by Falken
MikeG.6.5 wrote:If you can open a port on your router for SSH you could do this remotely. By default SSH uses port 22, but I would advise you to change the port forwarding to something above 1000 and below 65000.

For example, you COULD forward port 35000 to internal IP of your NAS to port 22, then you could be fairly sure no one will likely hack into the machine, and you still have remote access to it via SSH.


Yes, ofcourse. I have avoided this for various reasons. Mainly, because I have not had the need until now. I usually get all my "server needs" done while at home.

But, thank you for the help!

Re: Restart Apache2 - How?

PostPosted: Thu Jan 19, 2017 5:10 pm
by Kapitein Haak
Sorry to resurrect this ancient thread, I have changed the file /volume0/usr/builtin/etc/apache2/mods-available/ssl.conf:
SSLProtocol all -SSLv2 (modified to ->) SSLProtocol all -SSLv2 -SSLv3
Stop and start the Web server and voila, you will get a nice "A" rating on www.ssllabs.com when testing your https website.

P.S. @Asustor, please make this default for next firmware releases.

Best regards,
Kapitein Haak.

Re: Restart Apache2 - How?

PostPosted: Sat Jan 21, 2017 5:03 pm
by Falken
Kapitein Haak wrote:Sorry to resurrect this ancient thread, I have changed the file /volume0/usr/builtin/etc/apache2/mods-available/ssl.conf:
SSLProtocol all -SSLv2 (modified to ->) SSLProtocol all -SSLv2 -SSLv3
Stop and start the Web server and voila, you will get a nice "A" rating on http://www.ssllabs.com when testing your https website.

P.S. @Asustor, please make this default for next firmware releases.

Best regards,
Kapitein Haak.


Thank you.

I managed to get this working a short while after my last reply in this thread. I got other issues now, instead. See my APCu thread for this.