It is currently Sat Sep 21, 2019 6:23 am
All times are UTC + 8 hours

[APKG Entware-ng] Replace Astware & Optware include 64 bits version

Entware-ng is A modern Optware/ipkg replacement ; Entware-ng is package repository for embedded devices. These packages allow you to add new functionality to your device. Most of them taken from OpenWRT, but others are unique.

Entware-ng exist for x86, x86_64 and armhf architecture

Entware-ng also replace astware to use common base for ALL OpenWRT platform

Optware/Ipkg is obsolete, not maintened and not secure ... (abandoned)

Re: [APKG Entware-ng] Total replace Astware & Optware include 64 bits version

Postby father.mande » Thu May 26, 2016 1:20 am

Hi,
itdaboyz wrote:I'm sorry I'm not on arm but on 32bits.
But the package is not large, it's only 21kb.


Large for a router is small ex. my router have only 8 MBytes for all package (so need an extension to works with more) ... so a large package is not so large as we know ...

I will have found a solution ... (but remember that gcc other in opkg is not so large ... no include no default lib ... so request to build all from scratch

I finish test, verification and validation and return to you ...
be patient.

Philippe.
AS5002T / AS202TE / AS1002T
My Blog specific to my APKG : https://blog.father-mande.ovh/
User avatar
father.mande
 
Posts: 778
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 2:55 am

Re: [APKG Entware-ng] Total replace Astware & Optware include 64 bits version

Postby father.mande » Thu May 26, 2016 3:06 pm

Hi,

After exchange with Zyxmon ... developer of Entware :

use --force-space option in command line when you fall in similar error
--force-space disable free space check ... so solve the problem linked to /opt in romfs choice by Asustor on this model ...
Code: Select all
opkg --force-space install gcc


tested on AS202T (Intel 32 bits model)

I will see if it's possible (syntax) to add it permanently in opkg.conf ... but not sure ...

OK EDIT :
it's possible to add this permanently in /opt/etc/opkg.conf (so no more option to add in command line)
add a line with :
option force_space
Code: Select all
root@AS-202TE:/volume1/.@root # cat /opt/etc/opkg.conf
src/gz packages http://entware.zyxmon.org/binaries/x86-32
dest root /
dest ram /opt/tmp
lists_dir ext /opt/var/opkg-lists
option tmp_dir /opt/tmp
option force_space
root@AS-202TE:/volume1/.@root #


Philippe.
AS5002T / AS202TE / AS1002T
My Blog specific to my APKG : https://blog.father-mande.ovh/
User avatar
father.mande
 
Posts: 778
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 2:55 am

Re: [APKG Entware-ng] Total replace Astware & Optware include 64 bits version

Postby father.mande » Thu May 26, 2016 3:25 pm

Hi,

Just to inform you that I have edited the previous message ...
and add this bug in first post ...

Philippe.
AS5002T / AS202TE / AS1002T
My Blog specific to my APKG : https://blog.father-mande.ovh/
User avatar
father.mande
 
Posts: 778
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 2:55 am

Re: [APKG Entware-ng] Total replace Astware & Optware include 64 bits version

Postby itdaboyz » Thu May 26, 2016 3:46 pm

Hi Philippe,

Nice one, it's working !
Thank you so much for the fast solution, you rock ! :D
itdaboyz
 
Posts: 140
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2014 7:21 pm

Re: [APKG Entware-ng] Total replace Astware & Optware include 64 bits version

Postby starplatina » Sun Oct 23, 2016 2:10 am

Hi, folks! I am a newbie not just to Asustor NASes, but to NASes in general, so please excuse my ignorance.

I have just started using Asustor AST3102T. I bumped into this thread while searching for a possible package management system for my ADM.

You guys talk about Optware, but I do not see any "ipkg" command on my ADM. This is just an observation. But I do see "apkg" in /usr/bin/, and I believe this is what manages Astware.

I would love to use Entware, but I am wondering if I can do it while still using Astware.

I understand the author, Philippe, strongly recommends that you delete all Astware. However, at the same time, I see a changelog about a fix that allows Entware to coexist with Virtualbox, which I believe is to be a piece of Astware. I also see a post about installing Python as part of Entware, not as part of Astware.

All this makes me think Entware can be used alongside with Astware, although it is not trivially easy and can be tricky. Am I right in thinking so?

If all the available Astware can be obtained as Entware, I would not worry, but in reality, I believe there are many apps, particularly screen-oriented apps such as Kodi, that is available as Astware but not as Entware.

If I am mistaken about any of the assumptions I am making above, please do point it out and enlighten me.

Thanks!
starplatina
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2016 12:19 am

Re: [APKG Entware-ng] Total replace Astware & Optware include 64 bits version

Postby father.mande » Sun Oct 23, 2016 4:50 am

Hi,

apkg is for Asustor package NOT for astware (astware has been an apkg)

astware is a first approach for Entware (opkg command) canceled due to potential conflict ...
so if you are new ... you never install APKG astware ... so you can start directly with Entware

Entware is similar in usage to Optware (ipkg) that are abandoned and not updated ...
opkg command is very similar to ipkg

Philippe.
AS5002T / AS202TE / AS1002T
My Blog specific to my APKG : https://blog.father-mande.ovh/
User avatar
father.mande
 
Posts: 778
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 2:55 am

Re: [APKG Entware-ng] Total replace Astware & Optware include 64 bits version

Postby starplatina » Mon Oct 24, 2016 1:31 pm

Philippe, thanks a bunch for your clarification. Apparently I had misunderstandings and I am so glad you cleared that out.

So I don't have so-called Astware on my AS3102T. And with that in mind, I do not have to remove Astware (as I have none), and I can just go ahead and install Entware without worry about causing conflicts... right?

Man, this is so exciting! :)

father.mande wrote:Hi,

apkg is for Asustor package NOT for astware (astware has been an apkg)

astware is a first approach for Entware (opkg command) canceled due to potential conflict ...
so if you are new ... you never install APKG astware ... so you can start directly with Entware

Entware is similar in usage to Optware (ipkg) that are abandoned and not updated ...
opkg command is very similar to ipkg

Philippe.
starplatina
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2016 12:19 am

Re: [APKG Entware-ng] Total replace Astware & Optware include 64 bits version

Postby father.mande » Mon Oct 24, 2016 4:08 pm

Hi,

shortly RIGHT ... :D :D :D

Philippe.
AS5002T / AS202TE / AS1002T
My Blog specific to my APKG : https://blog.father-mande.ovh/
User avatar
father.mande
 
Posts: 778
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 2:55 am

Re: [APKG Entware-ng] Total replace Astware & Optware include 64 bits version

Postby starplatina » Mon Oct 24, 2016 4:17 pm

C'est très magnifique! Merci beaucoup à toi!

father.mande wrote:Hi,

shortly RIGHT ... :D :D :D

Philippe.
starplatina
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2016 12:19 am

Re: [APKG Entware-ng] Total replace Astware & Optware include 64 bits version

Postby Jhinta » Fri Feb 17, 2017 3:30 am

how do i install the header files ? witch location do they need to go?
include.tar.gz or libssl-dev

ahhhhh
wget -qO- http://pkg.entware.net/binaries/x86-64/ ... ude.tar.gz | tar xvz -C /opt/include
Jhinta
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 11:43 pm

PreviousNext

Return to Entware

  • You cannot post new topics in this forum
    You cannot reply to topics in this forum
    You cannot edit your posts in this forum
    You cannot delete your posts in this forum
    You cannot post attachments in this forum
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest