MongoDB questions

Professional Support by MongoDB:
Enterprise class support, training, and consulting available.

Moderator: Lillian.W@AST

JeremyCreekit
youtube meble na wymiar Warszawa

MongoDB questions

Post by JeremyCreekit »

Hi folks. Posting about Mongo here because I can't figure out where else to put this since there's no Mongo page in the 3rd party apps section and I can't see a general "Other" section either.

Anyway, a couple of questions about MongoDB please:

1) The Asustor version appears to be 32-bit only which limits you to a DB of 2GB. Is it possible to install the 64-bit version instead? If so, how do I do so please? I'm a Linux newbie.

2.1) As I said, I'm a Linux newbie. Mongo needs a database folder which I assume will be under Home\data\db. However, if I try run "mkdir -p \data\db" it tells me I need admin rights but if I run "sudo mkdir..." it can't find sudo and su doesn't work either. What do I need to do here?

2.2) Related to the above, if I just create Home\data\db using the File Explorer in ADM, Mongo doesn't recognise those folders as being created. Am I creating them in the right place?

Thanks!
maxani

Re: MongoDB questions

Post by maxani »

Hi @JeremyCreekit.

I'm the maintainer of the MongoDB app.

The version is both 32/64 bit.

I don't understand your next questions.

Indeed you don't have anything to do. You install MongoDB from the AppCentral, you wait. An empty and fresh database is created at /volume1/MongoDB folder.
Then you can connect to and manage the MongoDB cluster by any tool you want with these default credentials : admin / mongodb.
Security is then up to you.

Best regards,
carlos_lema

Post by carlos_lema »

Hi @maxani,

Thanks for the response. I am starting to kick the MEAN stack around, and I just stalled mongoDB yesterday -- BTW, which tool are you using to manage it?

I installed phpmongodb but it asks for the php_mongo module, I tried running:

Code: Select all

$ sudo pecl install mongo